Although all of these databases contain articles on Education, you may find some more useful than others.

For LPL 775 students and those working on dissertations, I recommend Nexis Uni, ProQuest Dissertations & Theses, and others that may be found on the LWLC's website.
For students interested in publishing research, I recommend Cabells. ASU students have access to 2 different databases by Cabells:
- Journalytics: a searchable, curated database of critical information about verified and reputable academic journals
- Predatory Reports: a database of deceptive and predatory journals, and a database of "verified, reputable journals", with details about those journals' acceptance rates and invited article percentages

Education Databases

Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window
Multi-disciplinary database provides full text for nearly 7,300 scholarly publications with coverage in virtually every subject area updated daily. Academic Search Premier is a section of this database.
Education Research Complete This link opens in a new window
Becomeopedia.com This link opens in a new window
Description about various professions, the process and training needed to become a particular profession, along with salary and potential career paths.
CareerOneStop This link opens in a new window
Tools to help job seekers, students, businesses, and career professionals.
Child Care and Early Education Research Connections This link opens in a new window
Policy and research concerning early childhood education including reports, papers, fact sheets, briefs, executive summaries, datasets, instruments, and measures.
Chronicle of Higher Education Online This link opens in a new window
Online version of “Chronicle of Higher Education” including searchable archive.
Education Research Complete This link opens in a new window
Education Research Complete is the most comprehensive resource for education research. Find articles (including full text and scholarly articles), books, and conference papers in all areas of education. Includes information about books and articles written in the last 100 years.
Educator's Reference Complete This link opens in a new window
Education research with full-text from journals, books, and conference papers.
Alabama Department of Archives and History Digital Collections This link opens in a new window
Various publications from many agencies, boards, and commissions within Alabama state government.
Encyclopedia of Alabama This link opens in a new window
History, culture, geography, and natural environment of Alabama.
ERIC This link opens in a new window
ERIC is an online library of education research and information, sponsored by the Institute of Education Sciences (IES) of the U.S. Department of Education. The site provides free searches of all ERIC documents and journal articles with downloading and viewing possible for ERIC documents from 1993 to the present. Supersedes EDRS.
ERIC (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window
Citation and abstract information for ERIC documents and journals with linked full-text to ERIC documents from 1993 to the present along with journals located in other EBSCO databases. (AVL)
GovInfo This link opens in a new window
Electronic access to information products produced by the Federal Government’s Government Printing Office.
General OneFile This link opens in a new window
General OneFile is a comprehensive general-interest resource providing periodical and news information. In addition, General OneFile also features more than 500 travel guides; a full collection of National Public Radio programs from 1990 to the present; links to over 5,000 video files; more than 3,000 full-text titles recommended by Bowker’s “Magazines for Libraries”.
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
JSTOR (Journal Storage) Arts & Sciences I, II, III, IV, and VII consist of an archive of over 900 refereed, scholarly journals.
LegalTrac This link opens in a new window
LegalTrac provides indexing and selective full-text for all major law reviews, law journals, specialty law and bar association journals and legal newspapers. The database offers coverage of federal and state cases, laws and regulations, legal practice and taxation, as well as British Commonwealth, European Union, and international law.
Library Literature & Information Science Full Text This link opens in a new window
Abstracts from as well as some full-text of periodicals, e-books, e-journals, proceedings, pamphlets and library school theses regarding librarianship.
Nexis Uni This link opens in a new window
Nexis Uni, the successor of LexisNexis Academic, is a comprehensive full-text database covering business, news, legal, company and medical information.
Occupational Outlook Handbook Online This link opens in a new window
Most current edition of this career information and work conditions resource.
Professional Development Collection This link opens in a new window
Designed for professional educators, this database provides a highly specialized collection of nearly 520 high quality education journals, including more than 350 peer-reviewed titles. (AVL)
Pronunciator This link opens in a new window
Pronunciator is an easy way to learn to speak, read, and write any of 80 languages. Includes live tutors, feature films, music with lyrics, pronunciation analysis, quizzes, and more! Also features ESL for 50 non-English languages, plus free apps for Android, Apple, and Kindle Fire devices. (AVL)
ProQuest Dissertations & Theses Global This link opens in a new window
Contains citations for dissertations starting with 1861, abstracts for dissertations from 1980, abstracts for master's theses from 1988, and full-text access to dissertations (via PDF) from 1997 to the present. Previously named Digital Dissertations.
Science.gov This link opens in a new window
Science information provided by U.S. government agencies, including research and development results.
Tuition Funding Sources This link opens in a new window
Information about scholarships, financial aid, colleges, online degree programs, and careers as well as a career personality test. Registration is required.

Accessing Databases

Accessing Databases from Home

In order to access the databases from home you must first be in our system.

To check this:

Go to the Library's web site www.lib.alasu.edu
Click on Library Catalog
Click on the link that says "patron"
If you can access your patron information, you are in the system. If not,
you will need to come to the library and fill out a patron update form

To access the databases:

Go to the Library's web site www.lib.alasu.edu
Click on Databases
Select a database from the subject areas or from the alphabetical listing
The login screen will ask that you:
1. Enter your Campus ID without hyphens
1. Enter your LAST NAME in lower case
Once in the database enter your search terms in the search boxes provided

If you are in our system and unable to login to the databases please send an email to cdavis@alasu.edu or rcurtis@alasu.edu for support.

If you need help using the databases please contact the Reference Desk (334) 229-4110.

LPL 775: Statistics and Research: Education Databases

Don't forget to check out our Open Educational Resources LibGuide!

Although all of these databases contain articles on Education, you may find some more useful than others.

For LPL 775 students and those working on dissertations, I recommend Nexis Uni, ProQuest Dissertations & Theses, and others that may be found on the LWLC's website.

Education Databases

Accessing Databases

Accessing Databases from Home