Photo Credit: Joe Conzo Collection - Cornell University Hip Hop Collection, Cold Crush Brothers at Club Negril, 1981
The world famous Apollo Theater is much more than a historic landmark---it is a source of pride and a symbol of brilliance of American artistic accomplishment. The Apollo Theater Foundation is a non-profit dedicated to the preservation and development of the legendary theater.
Archives of African American Music & Culture
AAAMC's collection includes commercial sound recordings with an emphasis on African American religious and popular genres (gospel, rhythm & blues, soul, blues, jazz, and hip-hop, and videos and DVDs, reference books, magazines, and photographs documenting African American music, history, and culture.
The Cornell University Hip Hop Collection
Cornell’s hip hop collection documents the origins and growth of hip hop culture through the preservation of its original artifacts.
The HistoryMakers is committed to preserving and making widely accessible the untold personal stories of both well-known and unsung African Americans.
An educational program in which artists tell the story of America's integration of history and culture, and of races brought together with respect for the unique American artistic treasure known to the world as jazz.
The Smithsonian Institution has a long record of leadership in preserving and promoting the historical legacy of jazz, presenting diverse jazz programs, and jazz education.
The Southern African American Music Collection
The Music Library at the University of South Carolina includes print, audio visual, and primary resources that represent the history and identity of African American music in the South.