Skip to main content

OTH 6535: Psychosocial Dysfunction II: Welcome

The Assignment

1.  Formulate PICO questions related to OT interventions in adult mental health by setting type.

  • P - Patient, problem, population
  • I - Intervention
  • C - Comparison
  • O - Outcome 

2.  Complete an intervention focused mental health Critically Appraised Topic (CAT) as a group assignment and in-class presentation.

APA Formatting

Databases

OT Search

The American Occupational Foundation (AOTF) and the American Occupational Therapy Association (AOTA) jointly support OT SEARCH, a bibliographic database covering the literature of occupational therapy and related subject areas. The full text of the indexed resources is not in this database, only the bibliographic information to identify the material and an author's abstract, when one exists. In the future, links to sources for full-text copies will be added to records in OT SEARCH. Currently, OT SEARCH contains over 41,900 records of materials dating from 1910 to the present...

About OT Search, Jan., 7, 2016

 

OTseeker, Occupational Therapy Systematic Evaluation of Evidence

OTseeker is a database that contains abstracts of systematic reviews, randomised controlled trials and other resources relevant to occupational therapy interventions. Most trials have been critically appraised for their validity and interpretability. In one database, OTseeker provides fast and easy access to information from a wide range of sources to inform occupational therapy.

OTseeker, http://www.otseeker.com/ , Jan. 7, 2016

PubMed

PubMed comprises more than 25 million citations for biomedical literature from MEDLINE, life science journals, and online books. Citations may include links to full-text content from PubMed Central and publisher websites.

http://www.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov/pubmed, 11/3/2015

Includes:

  • PMC (PubMed Central) - free full-text archive of biomedical and life sciences journal literature a the U. S. National Institute of Health's National Library of Medicine, NIH/NLM.
  • BioMed Central ... Publisher with a large portfolio of peer-reviewed open access journals.

PubMed Training - Tutorials help make successful PubMed searches happen. A few key tutorials are listed below:

Health Source: Nursing/Academic 

Over 520 scholarly full text journals focusing on many medical disciplines and indexing for many more. Includes the AHFS (American Society of Health-System Pharmacists) Consumer Medication Information, which covers 1,300 generic drug patient education sheets.

EBSCO, Choose Databases link, Jan. 15, 2016.

Academic Search Premier

An EBSCO multi-disciplinary database provides full-text for more than 4,600 journals including full text for more than 3,900 peer reviewed titles. 

Loading

Journals

AJOT. 2005-2014 in ASU Journals@Ovid.

Archives of Occupational Therapy. 1922-1934 in ASU Journals@Ovid.

OTJR: occupation, participation, health. 2002-2015 in LWLC Serials Department.

Occupational Therapy Journal of Research. 1998-2001 in LWLC Serials Department.

Occupational Therapy International. 1999-2012 in LWLC Serials Department.

Occupational Therapy and Rehabilitation. 1925-1951 in ASU Journals@Ovid

Scandinavian Journal of Occupational Therapy. Some full-text available in PubMed2006-2012 in

     LWLC Serials Department.

Australian Occupational Therapy Journal. Some full-text available at Wiley Online Library

     2006-2015 in Serials Department in LWLC.

British Journal of Occupational TherapySome full-text available in PubMed1998-2015 in Serials

     Department in LWLC.

Canadian Journal of Occupational TherapySome full-text available in PubMed1993-2015 in

     Serials Department in LWLC.

Physical and Occupational Therapy in Geriatrics1993-2015 in LWLC Serials Department.

Physical and Occupational Therapy in Pediatrics1993-2015 in LWLC Serials Department.

Health Science Librarian

Inga Moten

IM Us

Contact:
Best to call or send an email (imoten@alasu.edu) before visiting in LWLC, Room 424.
334-229-1074
View this page in a format suitable for printers and screen-readers or mobile devices. 915 South Jackson Street • Montgomery, Alabama 36101 • 334-229-4106 • Fax: 334-229-4940