Skip to main content

Maternal and Child Health Improvement Program, 2017: Welcome

APA Formatting

Information Literacy Session

IL for Wednesday, June 14, 2017, 8am

TED, Ideas worth spreading

TED is a global community, welcoming people from every discipline and culture who seek a deeper understanding of the world. We believe passionately in the power of ideas to change attitudes, lives and, ultimately, the world. On TED.com, we're building a clearinghouse of free knowledge from the world's most inspired thinkers — and a community of curious souls to engage with ideas and each other, both online and at TED and TEDx events around the world, all year long. (13 June 2017)

Khan Academy

Khan Academy offers practice exercises, instructional videos, and a personalized learning dashboard that empower learners to study at their own pace in and outside of the classroom. We tackle math, science, computer programming, history, art history, economics, and more. (13 June 2017)

Wolfgram/Alpha

  • Wolfram|Alpha introduces a fundamentally new way to get knowledge and answers—not by searching the web, but by doing dynamic computations based on a vast collection of built-in data, algorithms, and methods. (13 June 2017)

YouTubevideos from everywhere for anyone anywhere. Well documented history in Wikipedia.

Googlea company, a search engine. Well documented history in Wikipedia.

Google Scholar

  • Stand on the shoulders of giants.
  • Google Scholar provides a simple way to broadly search for scholarly literature. From one place, you can search across many disciplines and sources: articles, theses, books, abstracts and court opinions, from academic publishers, professional societies, online repositories, universities and other web sites. Google Scholar helps you find relevant work across the world of scholarly research. (13 June 2017)

Google Drive

  • Drive starts you with 15 GB of free Google online storage, so you can keep photos, stories, designs, drawings, recordings, videos - anything. (13 June 2017)

Information Literacy Session

IL for Wednesday, June 13, 2017, 9 am

NLM Resources

National Institutes of Health (NIH)

U. S. National Library of Medicine (NLM)

·        PubMed

·        MedlinePlus

TOXNET, Toxicology Data Network

  • TOXLINE, Toxicology Literature Online
  • HSDB, Hazardous Substances Database
  • LactMed, Drugs and Lactation Database
  • DART, Development and Reproductive Toxicology database
  • Household Products Database
  • HazMap, Information on Hazardous Chemicals and Occupational Diseases
  • TOXMAP, Environmental Health Maps
  • TRI, Toxics Release Inventory
  • ToxTown, Environmental health concerns and toxic chemicals where you live, work, and play

Government Resources

Federal Resources

U. S. Department of Health and Human Services (DHHS), http://www.hhs.gov/

State Agencies

Alabama Department of Public Health, http://www.adph.org/

  • ALLKids
  • County Health Departments  
  • WIC

State Organizations

Health professions have state and/or regional affiliations or chapters of national and international organizations

Alabama Health Libraries Association 

Health InfoNet of Alabama

 

 

Information Literacy Session

IL for Wednesday, June 7, 2017, 8-9:30 am

APA citing and formatting

Books and other materials

Subject specific materials

Discussion on women’s health

Information Literacy Session

IL for Monday, June 5, 2017, 8-9:45 am

Using subject terms, synonyms, and other relevant terms, search and retrieve documents from peer reviewed/scholarly journals for MCH  topics research using:

  1. Academic Search Premier
  2. Health Source: Nursing Academic
  3. PubMed
  4. MCN, American Journal of Maternal Child Nursing
  5. MCH Books @ Ovid

Parts of a Citation

     1. Author(s)                                                     1. Author(s)

     2. Year                                                            2. Year

     3. Article Title                                               3. Book Title

     4. Journal Title                                               4. Chapter Title

     5. Volume Issue                                              5. Place of Publication

     6. Pages                                                          6. Publisher

     7. DOI                                                            7. Pages

The Annotated Bibliography

An annotated bibliography will:

Summarize: Summarize the source. What are the main arguments? What is th point of the source? If someone asked what this source is about, what would you say?

Assess: Evaluate the source. Is it useful? How does it compare with other sources in the bibliography? Is the source biased or objective? What is the goal of the source?

Reflect: Think about how this source fits with your research. Does it help to shape your argument? How can you use it in your research? Has it changed how you think?

Stacks, G., Karper, E., Bisignami D. & Brizee, A. Purdue OWL: Annotated bibliographies.https://owl.english.purdue.edu/owl/resource/614/1/. Retrieved May 31, 2016.

Sample Annotated Bibliography Entry for a Journal Article

Fielding, E. W. (2016). When breath becomes air. The Human Life Review, 42(3). 68-72.

This review of Paul Kalanithi's When Breath Becomes Air speaks to his devotion to the science of neurosurgery and patient care needed for cancer survivors.  The ironic twist is that he, himself, becomes the patient of the same diagnosis as his patients.  Kalinithi does die and leave behind a wife, toddler and countless admirers. HIs story is told in two parts as the devoted energetic, young neurosurgeon and as the ever working, ever learning patient living with cancer. It is useful in that it is highly critical of what Kalanithi included in the telling of his journey and exposes contradictions of the author in his professional thinking and in his moral and personal thinking. The review helps us to reflect on the science and the humanity of living and suffering in the midst of extensive medical knowledge.

************************************************************************************************

PICO Research

P= Population

I = Intervention

C = Comparison

O = Outcome

Health Science Librarian

Inga Moten

IM Us

Contact:
Best to call or send an email (imoten@alasu.edu) before visiting in LWLC, Room 424.
334-229-1074
View this page in a format suitable for printers and screen-readers or mobile devices. 915 South Jackson Street • Montgomery, Alabama 36101 • 334-229-4106 • Fax: 334-229-4940