Unsung Heroes: A Symposium on the Heroism of Asian Pacific Americans During World War II
The Veterans History Project of the American Folklife Center and the Library of Congress Asian Division Friends Society co-host a program honoring the heroism of Asian Pacfic Americans during World War II.
Watch the symposium
Speakers: Tony Taguba, L. Tammy Duckworth, Vince Gotera, Valentin Ildefonso, Davis Wu, Madame Anna C. Chennault, Ted Stevens, John Gong, Fred Chaio, H.E. Ambassador Jason C. Yuan
Speakers: Terry Shima, Norman Ikari, Grant Hirabayashi, Mary Estacion, Judy Chu, Mike Honda
Ansel Adams's Photgraph's of Japanese-American Internment at Manzanar
In 1943, Ansel Adams (1902-1984), America's best-known photographer, documented the Manzar War Relocation Center in California and the Japanese Americas interned there during World War II.
Tom Kobayashi Landscape, Manzanar Relocation Center, California by Ansel Adams
This is just a small selection of the databases you have access to as an ASU student. Find more databases at www.lib.alasu.edu. You may need to log in to use databases.
Academic Search Complete - Multi-disciplinary database provides access to nearly 6,800 full-text scholarly publications with coverage in virtually every subject and updated daily.
American Song - Part of Music Online package; information and recordings regarding all varieties of American music.
Britannica E-books - Unlimited access to 325 eBooks for ages 4 to adult, covering topics such as Biographies, Geography, Government, History, Literature, Philosophy, Religion, Culture & Tradition, Science & Math, and Sports.
Census Bureau - Population, economic, and social data as compiled by the U.S. Census Bureau.
Chicago Tribune - Full-text access to the newspaper 1985-present.
Chronical of Higher Education Online - Number 1 source of news, information, and jobs for college and university faculty and staff members, administrators, and students.
Contemporary Literary Criticism - Excerpts from criticisms on the works of today's novelists, poets, playwrites, short story writers, script writers, and other creative writers.
Documenting the American South - A digital publishing initaitive that provides access to texts, images, and audio files related to Southern history, literature, and culture.
Electronic State Publications Collection of Alabama - Various publications from many agencies, boards, and commissions within Alabama state government.
Encyclopedia of Alabama - History, culture, geography, and natural environment of Alabama.
Ethnic NewsWatch - Biographical Information, photographs, and illustrations.
Famous Quotes & Authors - Browse 25,000 quotes from 6,700 famous authors.
JSTOR - Arts & Sciences Collection consists of an archive of over 100 refereed scholarly journals.
Los Angeles Times - Full-text access to the newspaper 1988-present.
MedlinePlus - Health resources and information.
New York Times - Full-text access to the newspaper 1999-present.
Opposing Viewpoints - A premier online resource covering today's hottest social issues.
ProQuest Newsstand - Full-text access to 140 newspapers.
Li-Young Lee: 2003 National Book Festival
Photo credit: Poetry Foundation
Born in Indonesia, of Chinese parents, Li-Young Lee moved to the United States as a young boy. He has taught at Northwestern University and the University of Iowa. He is the author of "Book of My Nights;" "The City in Which I Love;" "Rose;" and his memoir, "The Winged Seed: A Remembrance."
Sreevidhya Chandramouli with Poovalur Sriji: South Indian Classical Music from Oregon
Sreevidhya Chandramouli is a tenth generation vina player in the Karaikidi tradition of Carnatic (South Indian classical) music.
Poovalur Sriji studied Indian drumming with his father. He has performed and recorded with leading artists from both South and North Indian traditions and western performers.
Sreevidhya Chandramouli played the vina, a plucked Indian lute with a fret board spanning three and a half octaves.
Photo credit: Spicmacay - TAMU