The William P. Gottlieb Collection, contains over sixteen hundred photographs of celebrated jazz artists from 1938 to 1948, primarily in New York City and Washington, D.C.
The Library of Congress provides free public access to a portion of its audio collections through the Recorded Sound Reference Center web page, the American Memory site, The Performing Arts Encyclopedia and the American Folklife Center pages.
This is just a small selection of the databases you have access to as an ASU student. Find more databases at www.lib.alasu.edu. You may need to log in to use databases.
African-American Music Reference - Text reference, biographies, chronologies, sheet music, images, lyrics, liner notes, and discrographies illustrating the musical heritage of African Americans.
American Song - Part of Music Online package; information and recordings regarding all varieties of American music. African-American Song has merged with this collection.
Encyclopedia of Alabama - History, culture, geography, and natural environment of Alabama.
Ethnic NewsWatch - Biographical Information, photographs, and illustrations on African Americans.
JSTOR - Arts & Sciences Collection consists of an archive of over 100 refereed scholarly journals.
Oxford African American Studies Center - Reference and editorial collection concerning African American history and culture.
Now What A Time is part of the American Memory collection at Library of Congress. The collection includes approximately 100 sound recordings, primarly blues and gospel, and related documentation of the folk festival at Fort Valley State College.
The Music and Performing Arts Collection at the National Museum of African American History and Culture represents African American artistic and cultural expression through music, dance, theater, radio, film and television along with other forms of popular entertainment.