Databases - December 2020 / January 2021 - What's Happening @ LWLC - Research Guides Homepage at Alabama State University

New Databases - Added in Recent Months

The following databases were added in recent months.

Suggestions for additional e-resources can be sent to Neil Foulger (nfoulger@alasu.edu). If the e-resource has no cost, include URL, relevant subject(s), and a brief description. If the e-resource has a cost, include URL, pricing, and applicable contact information (vendor).

Text: NF

Child & Family Data Archive This link opens in a new window
Data on early care, education, and families as well as datasets about young children, their families and communities, and the programs that serve them.
Gale OneFile: Health and Medicine This link opens in a new window
Integrates millions of articles from nursing and allied health journals, newspapers, magazines, newsletters, and consumer health information sources.
Human Anatomy Atlas This link opens in a new window
Comprehensive 3D visual atlas of the human body.
Learn How to Become - Careers Today This link opens in a new window
Resource to explore career options in order to determine career path.
MAS Ultra School Edition This link opens in a new window
Full-text database of popular magazines, reference books and primary sources covering many subjects, including history, science and health. It also includes and over a million photos, maps and flags. (AVL)
OnlineNewspapers.com This link opens in a new window
Links to thousands of online newspapers, searchable by region or country.
OverDrive This link opens in a new window
Popular books that can be downloaded directly onto a user's computer or mobile device. Books may be checked out for 21 days, and are automatically returned to the library at the end of the checkout period.
Includes Project Gutenberg e-book collection.
ProQuest Publicly Available Content This link opens in a new window
Full text of open access dissertations and theses in a variety of disciplines and the complete text is freely accessible in PDF format. The authors of these dissertations and theses have opted to publish as open access.
Wex This link opens in a new window
Online legal dictionary and encyclopedia sponsored and hosted by Cornell University’s Legal Information Institute. Entries are collaboratively created and edited by legal experts.

Featured Databases

Compiled by: NF

EBSCO eBooks (formerly NetLibrary) This link opens in a new window
Collection of electronic books (e-books) which are also accessible via HORNETCat. Formerly known as NetLibrary.

Checkout period is 7 days. Checkout/checkin and bookshelf maintenance require creation of user account. Regular book reading does not require creation or access of user account. Downloading an e-book requires one-time download of Adobe Digital Editions 2.0 (Bluefire for Macs) onto device.
Global Newsstream This link opens in a new window
Full-text to over 1,300 newspapers, news websites, and blogs including Atlanta Journal-Constitution, Chicago Tribune, New York Times, USA Today and Wall Street Journal. Formerly known as ProQuest Newsstand.
Mergent Archives This link opens in a new window
A vast historical collection of company information. The Moody's/Mergent Digital Manuals consist of the following manuals: Industrial, Over the Counter Unlisted, Over the Counter Industrial, Transportation, Bank & Finance, Public Utilities, International and Municipal & Government starting in 1909 to current.
Nexis Uni This link opens in a new window
Nexis Uni, the successor of LexisNexis Academic, is a comprehensive full-text database covering business, news, legal, company and medical information.
Occupational Outlook Handbook Online This link opens in a new window
Most current edition of this career information and work conditions resource.
Oxford Academic Journals This link opens in a new window
Oxford University-published journals which cover a wide range of subjects including biology, economics, health sciences, political science, social work, and technology.
ScienceDirect This link opens in a new window
Abstracts and full-text articles (along with backfiles) in a variety of subject areas covering physical sciences, engineering, life sciences, health sciences, and social sciences. Freedom Collection with full-text coverage for over 1,500 journal titles was added in May 2019.

How to Access Databases

On the library's homepage, click Databases by Title

Next, click on the first letter of the database (for this example, we want to access JSTOR)

Now you can select the database

The link takes you directly to the database.

December 2020 / January 2021 - What's Happening @ LWLC: Databases

New Databases - Added in Recent Months

Featured Databases

How to Access Databases