Book reviews can be found in the following databases:
Academic OneFile (AVL) - Peer-reviewed, full-text articles from world’s leading journals and reference sources.
Academic Search Premier - Multi-disciplinary database provides full text for nearly 3,500 scholarly publications with coverage in virtually every subject area updated daily. Academic Search Elite is a section of this database.
African-American Biographical Database - Biographical information, photographs, and illustrations on African Americans.
Biography Reference Bank (AVL) - Biographical profiles for over 500,000 individuals along with abstracts, links to full-text articles, and images. This resource is updated daily.
Book Collection: Nonfiction (AVL) - Abstracts and full text for more than 2,000 popular nonfiction books. The database includes full text entries on social studies and science, as well as information in careers, health, sports, adventure, and technology.
Contemporary Authors (AVL) - A bio-bibliographical guide to current writers in fiction, general nonfiction, poetry, journalism, drama, motion pictures, television, and other fields.
Contemporary Literary Criticism (AVL) - Collection of critical essays on contemporary authors.
First Search - Comprehensive resource covering arts and humanities, business and economics, general science, life sciences, social sciences, medicine and health sciences. Databases include WorldCat, ArticleFirst, and PapersFirst.
GenderWatch - Full-text collection of international journals, magazines, newsletters, regional publications, special reports and conference proceedings devoted to women's and gender issues.
General OneFile (AVL) - Comprehensive news and periodical article source from 1980 to the present.
Library, Information Science & Technology Abstracts (AVL) - Indexes more than 500 core journals in librarianship, classification, cataloging, online information retrieval, and information management.
Literature Resource Center (AVL) - Biographies, bibliographies and critical analysis of authors from every age and literary discipline. Covers more than 90,000 novelists, poets, essayists, journalists and other writers, with in-depth coverage of 2,000 of the most-studied authors.
MLA Directory of Periodicals - Detailed information on over 7,000 periodicals including editorial contact information, frequency, circulation, subscription prices, and submission guidelines.
ProQuest Dissertations & Theses - Contains citations for dissertations starting with 1861, abstracts for dissertations from 1980, abstracts for master's theses from 1988, and full-text access to dissertations (via PDF) from 1997 to the present. Previously named Digital Dissertations.
Ulrich’s Web.com - Information about print and electronic serials.
Wiley Online Library - Full-text access to over 500 online journals and over 700 e-books in business, law, education, and the sciences (health, life, physical, and social).
Wilson’s Library Literature and Information Full-Text - Abstracts from as well as some full-text of periodicals, e-books, e-journals, proceedings, pamphlets and library school theses regarding librarianship.
WorldCat.org - Access online catalogs of ASU, other Montgomery universities, and beyond.
There is no review process or regulation for materials on the Internet, like there is for books or articles published in journals. So before you use an Internet source in a research project, you will need to judge for yourself the quality of the material that is presented. Consider these questions:
|Accuracy||Does the information presented seem accurate? Are the facts verifiable?|
|Authority||Who is the author? What expertise does he or she have on this topic? Who sponsors the site? Can you tell if it's a university or college, a business, an organization, or an individual?|
|Objectivity||What is the stated purpose of the site? Check the "About..." link if there is one. What position or opinion is presented and does it seem biased? What kind of sites does this one link to? Are there advertisements?|
|Currency||When was the page created? Does it include current information? Do links on the site still connect to their destinations?|
|Use||Would you quote information from this site in a college research paper?|
"Scales with Computers," Western Michigan Searchpath Tutorial, 2001, http://www.wmich.edu/library/searchpath/
Adapted from a Library Research Tutorial created by Jenni Breems & Jan Versluis at the John and Louise Hulst Library at Dordt College