Skip to main content

HSC 5006: Introduction to Research and Evidence-Based Practice: Databases

Databases

Lists of all ASU database subscriptions are available at Databases by Title and Databases by Subject.

OT Search

The American Occupational Foundation (AOTF) and the American Occupational Therapy Association (AOTA) jointly support OT SEARCH, a bibliographic database covering the literature of occupational therapy and related subject areas. The full text of the indexed resources is not in this database, only the bibliographic information to identify the material and an author's abstract, when one exists. In the future, links to sources for full-text copies will be added to records in OT SEARCH. Currently, OT SEARCH contains over 41,900 records of materials dating from 1910 to the present...

About OT Search, Jan., 7, 2016

 

OTseeker, Occupational Therapy Systematic Evaluation of Evidence

OTseeker is a database that contains abstracts of systematic reviews, randomised controlled trials and other resources relevant to occupational therapy interventions. Most trials have been critically appraised for their validity and interpretability. In one database, OTseeker provides fast and easy access to information from a wide range of sources to inform occupational therapy.

OTseeker, http://www.otseeker.com/ , Jan. 7, 2016

PTNow

From APTA, Rehabilitation Center Research, Clinical Summaries, Tests, CPGs, and Cochrane Reviews.

PEDro

PEDro is the Physiotherapy Evidence Database. PEDro is a free database of over 38,000 randomised trials, systematic reviews and clinical practice guidelines in physiotherapy. For each trial, review or guideline, PEDro provides the citation details, the abstract and a link to the full text, where possible. All trials on PEDro are independently assessed for quality. These quality ratings are used to quickly guide users to trials that are more likely to be valid and to contain sufficient information to guide clinical practice. PEDro is produced by Musculoskeletal Health Sydney, School of Public Health at the University of Sydney and is hosted by Neuroscience Research Australia (NeuRA).

 

PubMed

...comprises more than 29 million citations for biomedical literature from MEDLINE, life science journals, and online books. Citations may include links to full text content from PubMed Central and publisher web sites.

PubMed Quick Start

PubMed Tutorials

Pubmed, https://www.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov/pubmed, 10 Oct 2019.

MedlinePlus

MedlinePlus is the National Institutes of Health's Web site for patients and their families and friends. Produced by the National Library of Medicine, the world’s largest medical library, it brings you information about diseases, conditions, and wellness issues in language you can understand. 

Science Direct

Elsevier’s leading platform of peer-reviewed scholarly literature.

Health Source: Nursing/Academic 

Over 520 scholarly full text journals focusing on many medical disciplines and indexing for many more. Includes the AHFS (American Society of Health-System Pharmacists) Consumer Medication Information, which covers 1,300 generic drug patient education sheets.

EBSCO, Choose Databases link, Jan. 15, 2016.

PsycINFO

...American Psychological Association's (APA)  renowned resource for abstracts of scholarly journal articles, book chapters, books, and dissertations is the largest resource devoted to peer-reviewed literature in behavioral science and mental health.

 

Academic Search Premier

An EBSCO multi-disciplinary database provides full-text for more than 4,600 journals including full text for more than 3,900 peer reviewed titles. 

ProQuest Dissertations & Theses

ProQuest Dissertations & Theses Global is the world's most comprehensive collection of dissertations and theses from around the world, spanning from 1743 to the present day and offering full text for graduate works added since 1997, along with selected full text for works written prior to 1997. It contains a significant amount of new international dissertations and theses both in citations and in full text.

Grey Literature Resources

View this page in a format suitable for printers and screen-readers or mobile devices. 915 South Jackson Street • Montgomery, Alabama 36101 • (334) 604-9093