Research Guides Homepage: Prosthetics and Orthotics: Articles

Databases for Scholarly Journal Articles, Dissertations, & Theses

PubMed This link opens in a new window
Service of the National Library of Medicine that provides access to over 11 million MEDLINE citations back to the mid-1960's and additional life science journals. PubMed includes links to many sites providing full text articles and other related resources.

Overview

FAQs and User Guide

Finding the full-text article

Pedro
The Physiotherapy Evidence Database (or ‘PEDro’ for short) provides physiotherapists around the world with easy access to high-quality clinical research so they can practise and teach effectively. PEDro is a well-established, robust and trusted site that provides access to over 48,000 randomised controlled trials, systematic reviews and evidence-based clinical practice guidelines relevant to physiotherapy.

https://pedro.org.au/english/about/pedro-information-leaflet/, Nov. 17, 2020

FAQs

Tutorials

ScienceDirect
Keep up to date with health and medical developments to stimulate research and improve patient care. Search our books and journals covering education, reference information, decision support and more.

Science Direct Health Sciences, Nov. 17, 2020

FAQs

Tutorials

Health Source: Nursing/Academic Edition
This database provides nearly 550 scholarly full text journals focusing on many medical disciplines. Health Source: Nursing/Academic Edition also features the AHFS Consumer Medication Information, which covers 1,300 generic drug patient education sheets with more than 4,700 brand names.

Health Source: Nursing/Academic Edition, Nov. 17, 2020

ProQuest Dissertations & Theses
ProQuest Dissertations & Theses (PQDT) Global is the world's most comprehensive collection of dissertations and theses from around the world, offering millions of works from thousands of universities. Each year hundreds of thousands of works are added. Full-text coverage spans from 1743 to the present, with citation coverage dating back to 1637.

ProQuest Dissertations & Theses, Nov. 17, 2020

Help

Academic Search Premier
An EBSCO multi-disciplinary database provides full-text for more than 4,600 journals including full text for more than 3,900 peer reviewed titles.
Nov. 17, 2020

How to Find Articles

To search for articles, first go to the LWLC homepage and select "Databases by Subject" in the blue box on the lower left hand portion of the page.

Next, select the subject you want to research such as "Health Science".

A new page will open with a list of databases relevant to the subject.

How to Retain a Search

Almost all research databases have a sign-in procedure so that the searcher can keep and reuse a search strategy. This sign-on can be used to send alerts and new posting from searches. It can also be used to store search results.

Prosthetics and Orthotics: Articles

Accessing Full-Text documents

Databases for Scholarly Journal Articles, Dissertations, & Theses

How to Find Articles

How to Retain a Search