Databases - June 2019 - What's Happening @ LWLC - Research Guides Homepage at Alabama State University

New Databases - Added in Recent Months

Bureau of Justice Statistics - Information on crime, criminal offenders, victims of crime, and operation of justice systems at all levels of U.S. government.

Drug Information Portal - Starting point for learning about over 17,000 drugs already on the market or being tested.

GCFLearn Free - Tutorial website for basic technology and workplace skills.

Google Scholar - Search engine specifically for scholarly journal articles, books, dissertations, and technical reports.

Medscape - Medical news and perspectives for health care providers along with clinical information and access to continuing education.

MLA Bibliography with Full-Text - Full text is now accessible with this resource.

MLA Directory of Periodicals - Offers detailed information on over 7,000 periodicals including editorial contact information, frequency, circulation, subscription prices, and submission guidelines.

ProcurementIQ - Data related to supply chain management, logistics and entrepreneurial programs including Supply Chain Dynamics and Risk, RFP Development, Negotiations and Price Forecasting.

Pronunciator - Courtesy of Alabama Virtual Library, active learning resources for over 80 languages.

Suggestions for additional e-resources can be sent to Neil Foulger (nfoulger@alasu.edu). If the e-resource has no cost, include URL, relevant subject(s), and a brief description. If the e-resource has a cost, include URL, pricing, and applicable contact information (vendor).

Text: NF

Featured Databases

eBook Collection -Collection of electronic books (e-books) which are also accessible via HORNETCat. Formerly known as NetLibrary.

Checkout period is 7 days. Checkout/checkin and bookshelf maintenance require creation of user account. Regular book reading does not require creation or access of user account. Downloading an e-book requires one-time download of Adobe Digital Editions 2.0 (Bluefire for Macs) onto device.

E-Statement Studies - Part of RMA University, the eStatement Studies tab accesses industry norms by year, asset range and region with information from composites averaged and aggregated from financial statements’ raw data. Content via Credit Risk and Enterprise Risk tabs are not accessible.

Global Newsstream (formerly ProQuest Newsstand) - Full-text to over 1,300 newspapers, news websites, and blogs including Atlanta Journal-Constitution, Chicago Tribune, New York Times, USA Today and Wall Street Journal.

Mergent Archives - A vast historical collection of company information. The Moody's/Mergent Digital Manuals consist of the following manuals: Industrial, Over the Counter Unlisted, Over the Counter Industrial, Transportation, Bank & Finance, Public Utilities, International and Municipal & Government starting in 1909 to current.

Nexis Uni - Comprehensive full-text database covering business, news, legal, company, and medical information. "Legal" includes full-text legal news, law reviews, federal case law, state legal research, the U.S. Code, Constitution, and court rules.Curriculum-based research guides are also included.

Occupational Outlook Handbook Online - Most current edition of this career information and work conditions resource.

Oxford University Press Journals Online - Oxford University-published journals which cover a wide range of subjects including biology, economics, health sciences, political science, social work, and technology.

Wiley Online LIbrary - Full-text access to over 500 online journals in business, law, education, and the sciences (health, life, physical, and social).

Text: NF

How to Access Databases

On the library's homepage, click Databases by Title

Next, click on the first letter of the database (for this example, we want to access JSTOR)

Now you can select the database

The link takes you directly to the database.

June 2019 - What's Happening @ LWLC: Databases

New Databases - Added in Recent Months

Featured Databases

How to Access Databases