Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
View this page in a format suitable for printers and screen-readers or mobile devices.
915 South Jackson Street • Montgomery, Alabama 36101 • (334) 604-9093
Databases for Music
These electronic resources have direct access to music-related content.
You will need to log-in for off-campus access (see box below).
African American Music Reference African American Music Reference will contain 50,000 pages that offers the first comprehensive coverage of blues, jazz, spirituals, civil rights songs, slave songs, minstrelsy, rhythm and blues, gospel, and other forms of black American musical expression. This resource is provided by Alexander St. Press/Proquest.
American Music Music Online: American Music is a history database that allows people to hear and feel the music from America's past.
Classical Music Library Classical Music Library contains online listenable classical recordings. This is a collection of music from Medieval to contemporary.
Contemporary World Music Contemporary World Music contains sounds of all regions from every continent. It includes genres and a blend of contemporary and traditional world music recordings from many labels throughout the world.
Grove Music Online Central location for Grove Music Online, Oxford Companion to Music, and Oxford Dictionary of Music. Also known as Oxford Music Online
Jazz Music Library Part of Music Online package; information and musical recordings from jazz artists, ensembles, albums and genres.
Smithsonian Global Music Part of Music Online package; virtual encyclopedia of world’s musical and aural traditions.
Accessing Library Databases Off Campus
- Go to the Library's web site www.lib.alasu.edu
- Under Research Tools, there are three options in accessing databases:
- 1.) All of our electronic databases are listed under Databases by Title.
- 2.) All of our electronic databases are also listed under A-Z Database List.
- 3.) If you would like resources in a particular subject, visit Databases by Subject.
- Select a database from the subject areas or from the alphabetical listing
- The login screen will ask that you:
- Enter your Campus ID without hyphens
- Enter your LAST NAME in lower case
- Once in the database enter your search terms in the search boxes provided
If you are in our system and unable to login to the databases please send an email to email@example.com for support.
If you need help using the databases, please contact the Reference Desk (334) 604-9093 or send e-mail to Randy Curtis at firstname.lastname@example.org.
Creating Music? Some Tools Include...
These Links will help you develop and create Music
Tips & Tricks
- Choose the Scholarly/Peer-Reviewed Journal checkbox in each database before you hit search.
- Limit your search to full text only if you’re interested in finding articles that are immediately available.
Additional Music-Related Websites