Databases - March 2025 - What's Happening @ LWLC - Research Guides Homepage at Alabama State University

New Databases - Added in Recent Months

The following databases / e-resources were added in recent months:

Black Freedom Struggle
Black Freedom Struggle provides access to primary source documents that are related to critical people and events in African American history. (AVL)
HathiTrust Digital Library
Digital library of 18+ million digitized items which come from over 60 academic and research libraries' collections which are located in North America and other countries.
Oxford Academic Books
Cross-searchable library containing the full text and abstracts of classic and newly published Oxford books in the areas of biology; business and management; economics and finance; history; law; linguistics; literature; mathematics; music; philosophy; political science; public health and epidemiology; social work. Oxford Scholarship Online is an accessible resource within Oxford Academic.
Weiss Finance Ratings
Access to +40,000 investment ratings on stocks, mutual funds, and exchange-traded funds (ETFs) and +16,000 safety ratings on banks, credit unions, and insurance companies. (AVL)

Database Recommendations

Recommendations for databases can be made by contacting any librarian or by completing the Materials Request Form.

Online Databases

image source: https://sechelt.bc.libraries.coop/complete-list/

To Access Databases

On the LWLC's homepage, click Databases:

Next, click on the first letter of the database (for this example, we want to access JSTOR):

Select the database:

If you are off-campus, you must enter your last name (username) and Campus-Wide ID number (password) to access a database.

Featured / Popular Databases

Featured as well as popular databases are listed below:

Academic OneFile Academic OneFile offers extensive coverage of the physical sciences, technology, medicine, social sciences, the arts, theology, literature and other subjects
Academic Search Complete Multi-disciplinary database provides full text for nearly 7,300 scholarly publications with coverage in virtually every subject area updated daily. Academic Search Premier is a section of this database.
Black Studies Center Central location for resources useful for Black studies' instruction and research: Schomburg Studies on the Black Experience, International Index to Black Periodicals, and The Chicago Defender (1935-1975).
Cabell's Journalytics Searchable, monitored database with detailed information about verified and reputable academic journals.
EBSCO eBooks (formerly NetLibrary) Collection of electronic books (e-books) which are also accessible via HORNETCat. Formerly known as NetLibrary.
First Search Comprehensive resource covering arts and humanities, business and economics, general science, life sciences, social sciences, medicine and health sciences. Databases include WorldCat, ArticleFirst, and PapersFirst.
Global Newsstream Full-text to over 1,300 newspapers, news websites, and blogs including Atlanta Journal-Constitution, Chicago Tribune, New York Times, USA Today and Wall Street Journal. Formerly known as ProQuest Newsstand.
JSTOR JSTOR (Journal Storage) Arts & Sciences I, II, III, IV, and VII consist of an archive of over 900 refereed, scholarly journals.
Kanopy A video streaming service providing access to more than 30,000 independent and documentary films ─ titles of unique social and cultural value from The Criterion Collection, The Great Courses, Media Education Foundation, and thousands of independent filmmakers.
Mergent Archives A vast historical collection of company information. The Moody's/Mergent Digital Manuals consist of the following manuals: Industrial, Over the Counter Unlisted, Over the Counter Industrial, Transportation, Bank & Finance, Public Utilities, International and Municipal & Government starting in 1909 to current.
Nexis Uni Nexis Uni, the successor of LexisNexis Academic, is a comprehensive full-text database covering business, news, legal, company and medical information.
OverDrive Popular books that can be downloaded directly onto a user's computer or mobile device. Books may be checked out for 21 days, and are automatically returned to the library at the end of the checkout period.Includes Project Gutenberg e-book collection.
Oxford Academic Journals Oxford University-published journals which cover a wide range of subjects including biology, economics, health sciences, political science, social work, and technology.
ProQuest Dissertations & Theses Global Contains citations for dissertations starting with 1861, abstracts for dissertations from 1980, abstracts for master's theses from 1988, and full-text access to dissertations (via PDF) from 1997 to the present. Previously named Digital Dissertations.
ScienceDirect Abstracts and full-text articles (along with backfiles) in a variety of subject areas covering physical sciences, engineering, life sciences, health sciences, and social sciences. Freedom Collection with full-text coverage for over 1,500 journal titles was added in May 2019.
Serial Solutions "Ejournals" link on LWLC homepage. Notes full-text content dates for journals and magazines subscribed/accessible to the ASU community.

March 2025 - What's Happening @ LWLC: Databases

New Databases - Added in Recent Months

Database Recommendations

Online Databases

To Access Databases

Featured / Popular Databases