Research Guides Homepage: CHE 431: Introduction to Research: Databases

How to Find Articles

In order to find articles, first go to the LWLC homepage and select "Databases by Subject" in the blue box on the lower left hand portion of the page. Next, select the subject you're wanting to research such as "Math/Science and Technology Databases" (for Chemistry) or Health Science Databases for additional science-related databases. Finally, a new page will open with a list of databases relevant to that topic.

Brief Video on Accessing Science Databases at the LWLC

Accessing Science Databases

Recommended Databases

Alt HealthWatch This link opens in a new window Alt HealthWatch provides coverage of complementary, holistic and integrated approaches to health care and wellness through a full text database of articles from more than 140 international and often peer-reviewed journals. The majority of the articles are available in searchable PDF or scanned-in-color.
Academic OneFile This link opens in a new window Academic OneFile offers extensive coverage of the physical sciences, technology, medicine, social sciences, the arts, theology, literature and other subjects
BMC This link opens in a new window BioMed Central, now BMC, is an open-access journals publisher for biomedicine, physical sciences, mathematics and engineering.
NCBI Bookshelf This link opens in a new window Freely-accessible books and documents published by the National Center for Biotechnology Information.
Linscott’s Directory of Immunological and Biological Reagents This link opens in a new window Search for antibody suppliers for thousands of specific antibodies and other immunological and biological reagents such as ELISA assay kits, cytokines, enzymes, recombinant proteins, siRNAs, tissues, organs, and custom antibody services.
LocatorPlus Catalog This link opens in a new window U.S. National Library of Medicine's online catalog, and includes over 800,000 catalog records for books, audiovisuals, journals, computer files, and other materials in the Library's collections.
Medline Plus This link opens in a new window U.S. National Library of Medicine's web site for consumer health information, and includes over 500 health topics and a guide to more than 9,000 prescription and over-the-counter medications.
NLM Products and Services (formerly NLM Gateway) This link opens in a new window Lists of National Library of Medicine (NLM) databases, resources, and APIs (Advanced Programming Interface).
Public Library of Science This link opens in a new window Freely-accessible peer-reviewed scientific information.
GreenFile This link opens in a new window A specialized database indexing more than 600 titles, including scholarly and general interest titles along with government documents and reports. It focuses on the relationship between human beings and the environment, drawing from such disciplines as agriculture, education, law, health, and technology.

Science Direct

Science.gov This link opens in a new window Science information provided by U.S. government agencies, including research and development results.
OSTI,gov This link opens in a new window Science, technology, and engineering research information from the U.S. Department of Energy.

Academic Search Premier

Health Resources and Services Administration (HRSA) This link opens in a new window The Health Resources and Services Administration (HRSA), an agency of the U.S. Department of Health and Human Services, is the primary Federal agency for improving access to health care services for people who are uninsured, isolated or medically vulnerable.
Health Source - Consumer Edition This link opens in a new window Consumer health database with information on health topics such as medical sciences, psychology, food sciences and nutrition, childcare, sports medicine and general health. (AVL)
Health Source: Nursing/Academic Edition This link opens in a new window Over 520 scholarly full text journals focusing on many medical disciplines and indexing for many more. Includes USP Pharmacopoeia DI: Volume II Advice for the Lay Patient and Stedman's Medical Dictionary. (AVL)
HSTAT This link opens in a new window Health Services/ Technology Assessment Text, is a searchable collection of large, full-text clinical practice guidelines, technology assessments and health information.

Environmental Studies Collection This link opens in a new window Formerly known as GREENR. Offers content on the development of emerging green technologies and discusses issues on the environment, sustainability among other topics.
Vocational & Career Collection This link opens in a new window Full text for over 350 vocational and general periodicals. (AVL)
Occupational Outlook Handbook Online This link opens in a new window Most current edition of this career information and work conditions resource.