Use these search strategies when searching for Education-related articles in databases such as Academic Search Complete, EBSCOhost, Education Full-Text, etc.
The use of Boolean Operators is an effective search strategy. Using the words AND or NOT will limit your search results, providing you with fewer hits. Using the word OR will expand your search and provide a greater number of results.
To see how this works, visit The Boolean Machine.
Truncation can expand your search results to include information or concepts that you may otherwise overlook. By using a "wildcard" in your search, you may find several variations of the same word or concept.
For an overview of truncation, visit Owens Library's Truncation page.
In order to access the databases from home you must first be in our system.
To check this:
To access the databases:
If you are in our system and unable to login to the databases please send an email to firstname.lastname@example.org or email@example.com for support.
If you need help using the databases please contact the Reference Desk (334) 229-4110.
Academic OneFile - Peer-reviewed, full-text articles from world’s leading journals and reference sources.
Academic Search Complete - Multi-disciplinary database provides full text for nearly 7,300 scholarly publications with coverage in virtually every subject area updated daily. Academic Search Premier is a section of this database.
Academic Search Premier (AVL) - Multi-disciplinary database provides full text for nearly 3,500 scholarly publications with coverage in virtually every subject area updated daily. Academic Search Elite is a section of this database.
Becomeopedia.com - Description about various professions, the process and training needed to become a particular profession, along with salary and potential career paths.
CareerOneStop - Tools to help job seekers, students, businesses, and career professionals.
Child Care and Early Education Research Connections - Policy and research concerning early childhood education including reports, papers, fact sheets, briefs, executive summaries, datasets, instruments, and measures.
Chronicle of Higher Education Online - Online version of “Chronicle of Higher Education” including searchable archive.
CORE – COnnecting REpositories - Open access research outputs from repositories and journals throughout the world.
eBook Collection (EBSCOhost) - Collection of electronic books (e-books) which are also accessible via HORNETCat. Formerly known as NetLibrary.
EBSCOhost Electronic Journal Service - Gateway to electronic journal articles that can be searched by subject, title, author or text word.
Education Full-Text - Full text from over 350 journals as far back as 1996 along with indexing of more than 770 periodicals dating back to 1983 with coverage of special education, educational tests, adult education, multicultural/ethnic education, and teaching methods.
Education Research Complete - Education research with full-text from journals, books, and conference papers.
Educator’s Reference Complete - More 400 full-text journals focusing on educational principles, child development and psychology, and best practices in education.
Electronic State Publications Collection of Alabama - Various publications from many agencies, boards, and commissions within Alabama state government.
Encyclopedia of Alabama - History, culture, geography, and natural environment of Alabama.
ERIC - Free searches of all ERIC documents and journal articles with downloading and viewing possible for ERIC documents from 1993 to the present. Supersedes EDRS.
ERIC (EBSCO) (AVL) - Citation and abstract information for ERIC documents and journals with linked full-text to ERIC documents from 1993 to the present along with journals located in other EBSCO databases.
Federal Digital System - Electronic access to information products produced by the Federal Government’s Government Printing Office.
First Search - Comprehensive resource covering arts and humanities, business and economics, general science, life sciences, social sciences, medicine and health sciences. Databases include WorldCat, ArticleFirst, and PapersFirst.
General OneFile (AVL) - Comprehensive news and periodical article source from 1980 to the present.
JSTOR - JSTOR (Journal Storage) Arts & Sciences I, II, III, IV, and VII consist of an archive of over 900 refereed, scholarly journals.
Learning Express - Courtesy of Alabama Public Library Service, collection of career and education resources. Individual registration is required.
Legaltrac - Articles in all major law reviews, law journals, specialty law and bar association journals and legal newspapers as well as articles on Federal and State Cases, Laws and Regulations, Legal Practice, Taxation along with British Commonwealth, European Union and International Law.
Lexis Nexis Academic - A comprehensive full-text database covering business, news, legal, company, and medical information.
Library, Information Science & Technology Abstracts (AVL) - Indexes more than 500 core journals in librarianship, classification, cataloging, online information retrieval, and information management.
Library Literature and Information Science Full-Text - Abstracts from as well as some full-text of periodicals, e-books, e-journals, proceedings, pamphlets and library school theses regarding librarianship.
MLA Bibliography - Bibliography of Modern Language Association journal articles, books, and dissertations.
Occupational Outlook Handbook Online - Most current edition of this career information and work conditions resource.
Open Culture - Open information portal to freely available cultural and educational materials on the Web.
Oxford Journals Online - Oxford University-published journals which cover a wide range of subjects including biology, economics, health sciences, political science, social work, and technology.
Perseus Digital Library - A website that showcases collections and services concentrating on the history, literature and culture of the Greco-Roman world that allows users to read passages from texts and search in multiple languages.
Peterson's.com - Free access to information on colleges and universities, graduate programs, distance learning, career education, summer camp resources, private secondary schools, and executive education programs.
Professional Development Collection (AVL) - Highly specialized collection of nearly 360 full text journals, designed for professional educators.
ProQuest Dissertations & Theses - Contains citations for dissertations starting with 1861, abstracts for dissertations from 1980, abstracts for master's theses from 1988, and full-text access to dissertations (via PDF) from 1997 to the present. Previously named Digital Dissertations.
Science.gov - Science information provided by U.S. government agencies, including research and development results.
Sports Reference - Statistics and resources for sports fans.
Tuition Funding Sources - Information about scholarships, financial aid, colleges, online degree programs, and careers as well as a career personality test. Registration is required.
Vocational and Career Collection (AVL) - Full-text for over 170 vocational and general periodicals.
Wiley Online Library - Full-text access to over 500 online journals and over 700 e-books in business, law, education, and the sciences (health, life, physical, and social).