Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
View this page in a format suitable for printers and screen-readers or mobile devices.
915 South Jackson Street • Montgomery, Alabama 36101 • (334) 604-9093
"... is a systematic process which assists persons with physical, mental, developmental, cognitive, and emotional disabilities to achieve their personal, career, and independent living goals in the most integrated settings possible through the application of the counseling process. The counseling process involves communication, goal setting, and beneficial growth or change through self-advocacy, psychological, vocational, social, and behavioral interventions."
American Rehabilitation Counseling Association, http://www.arcaweb.org/, Nov. 23, 2020
Certified Rehabilitation Counselor Examination Preparation, Second Edition by Note to Readers: Publisher does not guarantee quality or access to any included digital components if book is purchased through a third-party seller. Now with a free mobile & web app with print purchase This concise, practical study guide, now in its second edition, offers a complete, detailed review of the certified rehabilitation counselor exam to help graduate students and professionals in rehabilitation counseling effectively prepare for and pass the exam. Authored by rehabilitation counselor educators cited for their teaching effectiveness, research, and scholarship, this fully revised and updated second edition reflects the new, expanded curriculum standards regarding counseling/psychotherapy content for CORE/CACREP graduate programs in clinical rehabilitation counseling and CORE standards for rehabilitation counselors. The second edition retains the user-friendly structure and organization of the first, and includes 50 additional questions for a total of nearly 300 Q&As with rationales, answer keys, multiple-choice questions, learning objectives, and more. Each chapter contains a concise overview of the topic, summary tables of key concepts, practice questions with annotated answers, and links to related web-based materials. New to the Second Edition: Revised and expanded to encompass 2015 CORE/CACREP standardsIncorporates new certified rehabilitation counselor exam requirementsIncludes 50 additional Q&As with rationales Key Features: Covers 10 core curriculum areasIncludes nearly 300 test Q&As with rationalesProvides key terms and conceptsIncludes tables and charts to clarify informationWritten by esteemed rehabilitation educators and members of the CRCC scientific research advisory panel App included Includes all the high-quality content from the book Information at your fingertips anytime, anywhere.Available on iOS, Android, and the web, with a powerful, simple-to-use interface.APP INCLUDED WITH PRINT PURCHASE
Publication Date: 2017-10-28
Disability and Vocational Rehabilitation in Rural Settings: Challenges in service Delivery by This first-of-its-kind textbook surveys rehabilitation and vocational programs aiding persons with disabilities in remote and developing areas in the U.S. and abroad. Contributors discuss longstanding challenges to these communities, most notably economic and environmental obstacles and ongoing barriers to service delivery, as well as their resilience and strengths. Intersections of health, social, structural, and access disparities are shown affecting rural disabled populations such as women, racial and sexual minorities, youth, and elders. In terms of responses, a comprehensive array of healthcare and health policy solutions and recommendations is critiqued with regard to health, employment, and service effectiveness outcomes. Included among the topics: Healthcare initiatives, strategies, and challenges for people with disabilities in rural, frontier, and territory settings. Challenges faced by veterans residing in rural communities. The Asia and Pacific region: rural-urban impact on disability. Challenges after natural disaster for rural residents with disabilities. Meeting the needs of rural adults with mental illness and dual diagnoses. Capacity building in rural communities through community-based collaborative partnerships. Disability and Vocational Rehabilitation in Rural Settings makes a worthy textbook for graduate students and upper-level undergraduates in the fields of social work, community and environmental psychology, public health, sociology, education, and geography. Its professional audience also includes vocational rehabilitation counselors serving these dynamic populations.
Publication Date: 2017-11-16
The Professional Practice of Rehabilitation Counseling, Second Edition by Revised to reflect radical changes in the field and their impact on professional practice Now updated and substantially revised to reflect the CORE/CACREP merger and fundamental changes in the field, this comprehensive graduate-level second edition textbook articulates the complementary relationship between rehabilitation and mental health counseling and how it impacts professional practice. New information is introduced to address the increasing diversity of current and emerging job titles, duties, and settings, as well as to reframe existing content to better prepare rehabilitation counselors for navigating a continually shifting health care system. The second edition defines rehabilitation counseling as a specialty area of the broader counseling profession, and introduces psychiatric rehabilitation as a bridge to understanding the intersection of traditional rehabilitation and mental health counseling. It emphasizes recovery-based models and describes evidence-based research supporting the effectiveness of psychosocial interventions. Esteemed experts also address specific job functions related to assessment, credentialing, counseling, case management, advocacy, and career development. Four completely new chapters cover the fundamental concepts and models that underpin rehabilitation counseling, the evidence-based competencies that constitute rehabilitation counseling practice, and the specialized practices of forensic rehabilitation, and psychiatric rehabilitation. New and Key Features: Reflects the CORE/CACREP merger and its impact upon rehabilitation counseling Conceptualizes rehabilitation counseling and its complementary relationship to counseling Includes new chapters on fundamental elements of rehabilitation counseling practice and on specialized practice in forensic and psychiatric rehabilitation. Addresses changes to CRCC 2016 Code of Ethics Covers the infusion of technology into distance education and counseling Laces a global perspective throughout with an emphasis on the ICF model Reflects the reality of professional practice in the current job market Includes new activities to enhance learning Offers an Instructors Manual with test item bank, Power Point presentations, and learning activities on applying chapter content Provides a model syllabus for Introduction to Rehabilitation Counseling
Publication Date: 2017-07-15
Taking Flight: College for Students with Disabilities, Diverse Learners and their Families by A learning differences expert shares stories, strategies, and information about what students with disabilities need to be successful in college. In Taking Flight, Dr. Perry T. Laroque shares his insight and expertise on a range of important issues many students with a wide range of disabilities face as they head off to college. Rather than merely focusing on the academic aspects, LaRoque addresses the full college experience, discussing the strategies and perspective needed to thrive in the classroom and beyond. With a mix of personal stories, humor, and frank advice, Perry T. LaRoque explores topics such as the concept of disability, the need for positive self-expression, college bureaucracy, roommate relationships, and having fun. Taking Flight addresses the truly relevant issues needed for happiness and success in college and teaches readers not only how to do well in the system, but how to overcome a system that isn't designed for today's diverse learners.
Publication Date: 2019-12-03
Health Sciences Librarian, OT
Current Events/ Assignment Details