Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
View this page in a format suitable for printers and screen-readers or mobile devices.
915 South Jackson Street • Montgomery, Alabama 36101 • (334) 604-9093
These electronic resources have direct access to history-related content. You will need to log-in for off-campus access (see nearby box).
Databases with (AVL) means this resource is part of the Alabama Virtual Library and should be freely accessible. Some wiill ask for off-campus log-in access.
Academic OneFile This link opens in a new window
Academic OneFile offers extensive coverage of the physical sciences, technology, medicine, social sciences, the arts, theology, literature and other subjects
Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window
Multi-disciplinary database provides full text for nearly 7,300 scholarly publications with coverage in virtually every subject area updated daily. Academic Search Premier is a section of this database.
Black Studies Center This link opens in a new window
Central location for resources useful for Black studies' instruction and research: Schomburg Studies on the Black Experience, International Index to Black Periodicals, and The Chicago Defender (1935-1975).
EBSCO eBooks (formerly NetLibrary) This link opens in a new window
Collection of electronic books (e-books) which are also accessible via HORNETCat. Formerly known as NetLibrary.
General OneFile This link opens in a new window
Comprehensive news and periodical article source from 1980 to the present. (AVL)
History Reference Center This link opens in a new window
Full-text from history reference books and encyclopedias, historical documents, biographies, photos and maps, media clips, and 60 history magazines. (AVL)
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
JSTOR (Journal Storage) Arts & Sciences I, II, III, IV, and VII consist of an archive of over 900 refereed, scholarly journals.
Nexis Uni This link opens in a new window
Nexis Uni, the successor of LexisNexis Academic, is a comprehensive full-text database covering business, news, legal, company and medical information.
Oxford Academic Journals This link opens in a new window
Oxford University-published journals which cover a wide range of subjects including biology, economics, health sciences, political science, social work, and technology.
Points of View Reference Center This link opens in a new window
Essays and articles which cover many core topics, each with an overview (objective background / description), point (argument), and counterpoint (opposing argument). (AVL)
Procon.org – Pros and Cons of Controversial Issues This link opens in a new window
Objective analysis of controversial issues in a straightforward, nonpartisan, primarily pro-con format.
ProQuest Dissertations & Theses This link opens in a new window
Contains citations for dissertations starting with 1861, abstracts for dissertations from 1980, abstracts for master's theses from 1988, and full-text access to dissertations (via PDF) from 1997 to the present. Previously named Digital Dissertations.
Serial Solutions This link opens in a new window
Also accessible as "eJournals" on LWLC homepage. Locates journals within subscribed databases, journals related to a particular subject, and links to listed databases.
Social Sciences Full-Text This link opens in a new window
Full-text access to the chief English-language journals in the social sciences.
How to Find Articles
In order to find articles:
1. Go to the LWLC homepage and select "Databases by Subject" in the blue box on the lower left hand portion of the page.
2. Select the subject you're wanting to research such as "Government/History/Political Science" (History).
3. A new page will open with a list of databases relevant to that topic.
4. Select the database(s) relevant to your topic and search. The resources in "Helpful Databases" can help limit your searches by type of journal (peer-reviewed journals are recommended), full-text, language, and date range.
Accessing Library Databases Off Campus
- Go to the Library's web site www.lib.alasu.edu
- Under Research Tools, there are three options in accessing databases:
- 1.) All of our electronic databases are listed under Databases by Title.
- 2.) All of our electronic databases are also listed under A-Z Database List.
- 3.) If you would like resources in a particular subject, visit Databases by Subject.
- Select a database from the subject areas or from the alphabetical listing
- The login screen will ask that you:
- Enter your LAST NAME in lower case
- Enter your Campus ID without hyphens
- Once in the database enter your search terms in the search boxes provided
If you are in our system and unable to login to the databases please send an email to email@example.com for support.
If you need help using the databases, please contact the Reference Desk (334) 604-9093 or send e-mail to Randy Curtis at firstname.lastname@example.org.