Research Guides Homepage: MUS 122: Intro to the Study of Music: Articles

Course-Related Library Database

Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window
Multi-disciplinary database provides full text for nearly 7,300 scholarly publications with coverage in virtually every subject area updated daily. Academic Search Premier is a section of this database.
Choral Public Domain Library This link opens in a new window
Hosts free scores of at least 36888 choral and vocal works by at least 3679 composers.
General OneFile This link opens in a new window
General OneFile is a comprehensive general-interest resource providing periodical and news information. In addition, General OneFile also features more than 500 travel guides; a full collection of National Public Radio programs from 1990 to the present; links to over 5,000 video files; more than 3,000 full-text titles recommended by Bowker’s “Magazines for Libraries”.
Grove Music Online This link opens in a new window
Central location for Grove Music Online, Oxford Companion to Music, and Oxford Dictionary of Music. Also known as Oxford Music Online
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
JSTOR (Journal Storage) Arts & Sciences I, II, III, IV, and VII consist of an archive of over 900 refereed, scholarly journals.
Literature Resource Center This link opens in a new window
Biographies, bibliographies and critical analysis of authors from every age and literary discipline. Covers more than 90,000 novelists, poets, essayists, journalists and other writers, with in-depth coverage of 2,000 of the most-studied authors. (AVL)
Full-text articles from scholarly journals and literary magazines are combined with critical essays, work and topic overviews, full-text works, biographies, and more to provide a wealth of information on authors, their works, and literary movements. Researchers at all levels will find the information they need, with content covering all genres and disciplines, all time periods and all parts of the world.
Oxford Academic Journals This link opens in a new window
Oxford University-published journals which cover a wide range of subjects including biology, economics, health sciences, political science, social work, and technology.
Petrucci Music Library This link opens in a new window
Virtual library of public domain music, especially classical music.

How to Find Articles

Go to the Library's web site www.lib.alasu.edu
Under Research Tools (blue box on left side of page), there are two options in accessing databases:
1.) All of our electronic databases are listed under Databases by Title.
2.) If you would like resources in a particular subject, visit Databases by Subject.
For this course, Music; Literature / Humanities, and History / Government / Political Science will be the most useful.

How to Access Databases from Off-Campus

Click on image for full document: