Skip to Main Content

Open Educational Resources (OER): Introduction to OER

This guide contains a selection of Open Educational Resources for teaching, learning, and research purposes.

 Open Educational Resources 

Image by Jan from Pixabay

What are Open Educational Resources (OER)?

OER are teaching, learning, and research resources that reside in the public domain or have been released under an intellectual property license that permits their free use and re-purposing by others. Open educational resources include full courses, course materials, modules, textbooks, streaming videos, tests, software, and any other tools, materials, or techniques used to support access to knowledge (The William and Flora Hewlett Foundation).

OER include:

  • full courses,
  • course materials,
  • modules,
  • textbooks,
  • streaming videos,
  • tests,
  • software,
  • and any other tools, materials, or techniques used to support access to knowledge.

Why choose digital materials?

The worldwide OER movement is rooted in the human right to access high-quality education.

This shift in educational practice is not just about cost savings and easy access to openly licensed content; it’s about participation and co-creation. Open Educational Resources (OER) offer opportunities for systemic change in teaching and learning content through engaging educators in new participatory processes and effective technologies for engaging with learning (https://oercommons.org/about).

Who Can Help You?

LWLC Subject Specialists Liaisons

Natasha Jenkins

njenkins@alasu.edu

Social Work

Monica Hodge

mhodge@alasu.edu

College of Health Sciences (CoHS); University College (First Year Experience)

Jessica Platt

jplatt@alasu.edu

College of Education; Psychology; Interim College of Business Administration

Neil Foulger

nfoulger@alasu.edu

Music; History & Political Science

Kashonda Murphy

kmurphy@alasu.edu 

Visual Arts; Communications

Teisha Robertson

trobertson@alasu.edu

College of Science, Technology, Engineering & Mathematics (CSTEM); University College

Hassna Ramadan

hramadan@alasu.edu

Languages & Literatures; Criminal Justice & Social Sciences; Theatre Arts

View this page in a format suitable for printers, screen readers, or mobile devices. 915 South Jackson Street • Montgomery, Alabama 36101 • (334) 604-9164