Research Guides Homepage: Open Educational Resources (OER): Health Sciences

Health Sciences Journals

BMC This link opens in a new window At BMC we are dedicated to publishing the best open access journals across our portfolio of over 250 titles and are always striving to drive progress in biology, health sciences and medicine.
CORE - COnnecting REpositories This link opens in a new window Open access research outputs from repositories and journals throughout the world.

DOAJ DOAJ is a unique and extensive index of diverse open access journals from around the world, driven by a growing community, committed to ensuring quality content is freely available online for everyone.
JAMA Network Open Explore the latest research in hypertension, diabetes, stroke, Alzheimer disease, and more, all completely free and open access.
Journal of Health Sciences The Journal of Health Sciences is an international, open access, peer-reviewed, and evidence-based scientific journal published by the University of Sarajevo, Faculty of Health Studies. The Journal's mission is to promote excellence in nursing and a range of disciplines and specialties of allied health professions.
Journal of Public Health Research The Journal of Public Health Research is an online open access, peer-reviewed scholarly journal in the field of public health science. The aim of the journal is to stimulate debate and dissemination of knowledge in the public health field in order to improve health outcomes of populations.
National Institutes of Health PubMed Central® (PMC) is a free full-text archive of biomedical and life sciences journal literature at the U.S. National Institutes of Health's National Library of Medicine (NIH/NLM).
PLOS PLOS is a nonprofit, Open Access publisher empowering researchers to accelerate progress in science and medicine by leading a transformation in research communication.
Wiley Online Library Health Science Reports Health Science Reports is an international, open access journal that publishes research and commentaries from across all medical and health sciences disciplines. The journal welcomes clinical studies, as well as reports on methods and research design, health services, public health, and medical education and practice.

Open Access Resources

Agency for Healthcare Research and Quality (AHRQ) This link opens in a new window The Agency for Healthcare Research and Quality's (AHRQ) mission is to improve the quality, safety, efficiency, and effectiveness of health care for all Americans. As 1 of 12 agencies within the Department of Health and Human Services, AHRQ supports research that helps people make more informed decisions and improves the quality of health care services.

CABI Digital Library New open access search tool designed to help build search strategies for researchers.
CDC CDC is the nation’s leading science-based, data-driven, service organization that protects the public’s health. For more than 70 years, we’ve put science into action to help children stay healthy so they can grow and learn; to help families, businesses, and communities fight disease and stay strong; and to protect the public’s health.

ClinicalTrials.gov This link opens in a new window The U.S. National Institutes of Health, through its National Library of Medicine, has developed ClinicalTrials.gov to provide patients, family members and members of the public current information about clinical research studies.

Clinical Queries (PubMed) This tool uses predefined filters to help you quickly refine PubMed searches on clinical or disease-specific topics. To use this tool, enter your search terms in the search bar and select filters before searching.
Elsevier Healthcare Hub Elsevier is committed to supporting healthcare professionals by making trusted knowledge available at your fingertips. Access clinical tools and resources, the latest expert insights, and research resources to support you in providing patient care.

Google Scholar This link opens in a new window Search engine specifically for scholarly journal articles, books, dissertations, and technical reports.

HEAL Collection The Health Education Assets Library (HEAL) is a collection of over 22,000 freely available digital materials for health sciences education. The collection is now housed at the University of Utah J. Willard Marriott Digital Library. Browse or search the collection by clicking one of the links below:

Health Resources and Services Administration (HRSA) This link opens in a new window The Health Resources and Services Administration (HRSA), an agency of the U.S. Department of Health and Human Services, is the primary Federal agency for improving access to health care services for people who are uninsured, isolated or medically vulnerable.

Health Services/Technology Assessment Texts (HSTAT)) Welcome to this free, Web-based resource of full-text documents that provide health information and support health-care decision making.

Medline Plus This link opens in a new window U.S. National Library of Medicine's web site for consumer health information, and includes over 500 health topics and a guide to more than 9,000 prescription and over-the-counter medications.
Medscape This link opens in a new window Medical news and perspectives for health care providers along with clinical information and access to continuing education.

MERCK MANUAL Professional Version

PubMed This link opens in a new window Service of the National Library of Medicine that provides access to over 11 million MEDLINE citations back to the mid-1960's and additional life science journals. PubMed includes links to many sites providing full text articles and other related resources.

Relief Central COVID-19 Full-text offline access to Coronavirus Guidelines, World Factbook, CDC Yellow Book, Field Operations Guide, Psychological First Aid (PFA), Relief News Updates, and CoRespond Emerging Topics.
Trip Database The Trip Pro offering takes an already wonderful – and free – version of Trip and makes it even better. With more content, more functionality, no adverts and more, it really makes the Trip experience even better
USPSTF Prevention Taskforce Supports primary care clinicians in identifying the screening, counseling, and preventive medication services that are appropriate for their patients. Information is based on the current recommendations of the U.S. Preventive Services Task Force (USPSTF) and can be searched by specific patient characteristics, such as age, sex, and selected behavioral risk factors.