Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
View this page in a format suitable for printers and screen-readers or mobile devices.
915 South Jackson Street • Montgomery, Alabama 36101 • (334) 604-9093
Although all of these databases contain articles on Education, you may find some more useful than others. For students taking EDU 461, I recommend Education Full Text and Educator's Reference Complete. Please note that additional databases may be found on the Levi Watkins Learning Center's website.
Education Databases @ ASU
Academic Search Complete
Multi-disciplinary database provides full text for nearly 7,300 scholarly publications with coverage in virtually every subject area updated daily. Academic Search Premier is a section of this database.
Description about various professions, the process and training needed to become a particular profession, along with salary and potential career paths.
Tools to help job seekers, students, businesses, and career professionals.
Child Care and Early Education Research Connections
Policy and research concerning early childhood education including reports, papers, fact sheets, briefs, executive summaries, datasets, instruments, and measures.
Chronicle of Higher Education Online
Online version of “Chronicle of Higher Education” including searchable archive.
Education Full Text (H.W. Wilson)
Full text from over 350 journals as far back as 1996 along with indexing of more than 770 periodicals dating back to 1983 with coverage of special education, educational tests, adult education, multicultural/ethnic education, and teaching methods.
Education Research Complete
Education Research Complete is the most comprehensive resource for education research. Find articles (including full text and scholarly articles), books, and conference papers in all areas of education. Includes information about books and articles written in the last 100 years.
Educator's Reference Complete
Education research with full-text from journals, books, and conference papers.
Alabama Department of Archives and History Digital Collections
Various publications from many agencies, boards, and commissions within Alabama state government.
Encyclopedia of Alabama
History, culture, geography, and natural environment of Alabama.
ERIC is an online library of education research and information, sponsored by the Institute of Education Sciences (IES) of the U.S. Department of Education. The site provides free searches of all ERIC documents and journal articles with downloading and viewing possible for ERIC documents from 1993 to the present. Supersedes EDRS.
Citation and abstract information for ERIC documents and journals with linked full-text to ERIC documents from 1993 to the present along with journals located in other EBSCO databases. (AVL)
Electronic access to information products produced by the Federal Government’s Government Printing Office.
General OneFile is a comprehensive general-interest resource providing periodical and news information. In addition, General OneFile also features more than 500 travel guides; a full collection of National Public Radio programs from 1990 to the present; links to over 5,000 video files; more than 3,000 full-text titles recommended by Bowker’s “Magazines for Libraries”.
JSTOR (Journal Storage) Arts & Sciences I, II, III, IV, and VII consist of an archive of over 900 refereed, scholarly journals.
LegalTrac provides indexing and selective full-text for all major law reviews, law journals, specialty law and bar association journals and legal newspapers. The database offers coverage of federal and state cases, laws and regulations, legal practice and taxation, as well as British Commonwealth, European Union, and international law.
Library Literature & Information Science Full Text
Abstracts from as well as some full-text of periodicals, e-books, e-journals, proceedings, pamphlets and library school theses regarding librarianship.
Nexis Uni, the successor of LexisNexis Academic, is a comprehensive full-text database covering business, news, legal, company and medical information.
Occupational Outlook Handbook Online
Most current edition of this career information and work conditions resource.
Professional Development Collection
Designed for professional educators, this database provides a highly specialized collection of nearly 520 high quality education journals, including more than 350 peer-reviewed titles. (AVL)
Pronunciator is an easy way to learn to speak, read, and write any of 80 languages. Includes live tutors, feature films, music with lyrics, pronunciation analysis, quizzes, and more! Also features ESL for 50 non-English languages, plus free apps for Android, Apple, and Kindle Fire devices. (AVL)
ProQuest Dissertations & Theses
Contains citations for dissertations starting with 1861, abstracts for dissertations from 1980, abstracts for master's theses from 1988, and full-text access to dissertations (via PDF) from 1997 to the present. Previously named Digital Dissertations.
Science information provided by U.S. government agencies, including research and development results.
Tuition Funding Sources
Information about scholarships, financial aid, colleges, online degree programs, and careers as well as a career personality test. Registration is required.
Wiley Online Library
Search a broad, multidisciplinary, full-text database of journals and books published by John Wiley & Sons with access to access to over 4 million articles from 1500 journals, over 15,000 online books, and hundreds of reference works and laboratory protocols.
NOTE: If you're the first user of the day, you might not access. However, try again and you'll be able to access then.
Accessing Library Databases Off Campus
Accessing Databases from Home
In order to access the databases from home you must first be in our system.
To check this:
- Go to the Library's web site www.lib.alasu.edu
- Click on Library Catalog
- Click on the link that says "patron"
- If you can access your patron information, you are in the system. If not,
you will need to come to the library and fill out a patron update form
To access the databases:
- Go to the Library's web site www.lib.alasu.edu
- Click on Databases
- Select a database from the subject areas or from the alphabetical listing
- The login screen will ask that you:
- Enter your Campus ID without hyphens
- Enter your LAST NAME in lower case
- Once in the database enter your search terms in the search boxes provided
If you are in our system and unable to login to the databases please send an email to firstname.lastname@example.org or email@example.com for support.
If you need help using the databases please contact the Reference Desk (334) 229-4110.