Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

LPL 720: Policy, Planning, and Change: Useful Databases

This guide will help students in LPL 755 complete their research and assignments.

.

Useful Databases

Although all of these databases contain legal information, you may find some more useful than others. For students taking LPL 720, I recommend LegalTracNexis Uni, and Wiley Online Library. Please note that additional databases may be found on the Levi Watkins Learning Center's website.

Law/Legal Databases

Law/Legal Databases

Comparison of Legal Databases

LegalTrac Nexis Uni Wiley Online Library
Articles in all major law reviews, law journals, specialty law and bar association journals and legal newspapers as well as articles on Federal and State Cases, Laws and Regulations, Legal Practice, Taxation along with British Commonwealth, European Union and International Law. A comprehensive full-text database covering business, news, legal, company, and medical information. Formerly known as Lexis Nexis Academic. Full-text access to over 500 online journals and over 700 e-books in business, law, education, and the sciences (health, life, physical, and social).

Accessing Databases Off-Campus

Accessing Databases

In order to access the databases from home, you must first be in our system.

To check this:

  • Go to the Library's web site www.lib.alasu.edu
  • Click on Library Catalog
  • Click on the link that says "patron"
  • If you can access your patron information, you are in the system. If not,
    you will need to come to the library and fill out a patron update form.

To access the databases:

  • Go to the Library's web site www.lib.alasu.edu
  • Click on Databases
  • Select a database from the subject areas or from the alphabetical listing
    • The login screen will ask that you:
      1. Enter your Campus ID without hyphens
      2. Enter your LAST NAME in lower case
  • Once in the database enter your search terms in the search boxes provided

If you are in our system and unable to login to the databases please send an email to cdavis@alasu.edu or rcurtis@alasu.edu for support.

If you need help using the databases please contact the Reference Desk (334) 229-4110.

View this page in a format suitable for printers and screen-readers or mobile devices. 915 South Jackson Street • Montgomery, Alabama 36101 • (334) 604-9093