Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
View this page in a format suitable for printers and screen-readers or mobile devices.
915 South Jackson Street • Montgomery, Alabama 36101 • (334) 604-9093
Health Information Management
"...work at the intersection of healthcare, technology and business."
AHIMA, https://ahima.org/who-we-are/about-us/, Dec. 2, 2020
Emerging Trends and Innovations in Privacy and Health Information Management by Discussions around the preservation of privacy and confidential data of patients parallels discussions about innovation, effectiveness, and quality of care that the use of technology can provide in health services. The use of technology in the management of health services and in the provision of care in hospital establishments can pose ethical issues. An effective solution needs to be concocted before the use of this technology disturbs the privacy practices of today's healthcare systems. Emerging Trends and Innovations in Privacy and Health Information Management is a collection of innovative research on the methods and applications of the preservation of privacy and confidential data of patients. While highlighting topics including privacy laws, ethical issues, and healthcare security, this book is ideally designed for professionals and researchers working in the fields of health, social intervention, and information management.
Publication Date: 2019-05-30
Healthcare of the Future by Imagining the healthcare of the future is an interesting exercise, and although nobody can predict precisely what systems might operate in ten year's time, the possibilities which already exist can give us a clue as to how healthcare may be managed by 2030.This book presents papers from the conference Healthcare of the Future, held in Biel/Bienne, Switzerland, on 5 April 2019. The conference reflects some of the results of a two year multi-stakeholder Swiss research program in medical informatics. The research program, which began in 2016, saw 25 stakeholders cooperating for an integrated cross-sectoral treatment pathway with the goal of avoiding communication gaps and information loss among the different participants within the treatment process. The principal goals were to improve and accelerate healthcare processes and empower the patient to play an active and decisive role within their own care process. The project highlighted interaction between caregivers, patients and healthcare institutions based on modern information technology. Topics covered are divided into 4 sections: workflows in healthcare; how does eHealth change the care process; knowledge based IT support; and eHealth and the informed patient, and the book also includes the keynote conference speech on improving the hospital-patient relationship with digital communication.The book will be of interest to all those involved in healthcare whose aim is to improve and accelerate healthcare processes and empower patients to play a more active and decisive role in their own care.
Publication Date: 2019-04-05
Health Information by Following the AHIMA standards for education for both two-year HIT programs and four-year HIA programs, Health Information: Management of a Strategic Resource, 4th Edition describes the deployment of information technology and your role as a HIM professional in the development of the electronic health record. It provides clear coverage of health information infrastructure and systems along with health care informatics including technology, applications, and security. Practical applications provide hands-on experience in abstracting and manipulating health information data. From well-known HIM experts Mervat Abdelhak, Sara S. Grostick, and Mary Alice Hanken, this book includes examples from diverse areas of health care delivery such as long-term care, public health, home health care, and ambulatory care. An e-book version makes it even easier to learn to manage and use health data electronically. Did You Know? boxes highlight interesting facts to enhance learning. Self-assessment quizzes test your learning and retention, with answers available on the companion Evolve website. Learning features include a chapter outline, key words, common abbreviations, and learning objectives at the beginning of each chapter, and references at the end. Diverse examples of healthcare deliveries, like long-term care, public health, home health care, and ambulatory care, prepare you to work in a variety of settings. Interactive student exercises on Evolve, including a study guide and flash cards that can be used on smart phones. Coverage of health information infrastructure and systems provides the foundational knowledge needed to effectively manage healthcare information. Applied approach to Health Information Management and Health Informatics gives you problem-solving opportunities to develop proficiency. EXPANDED! Data analytics, meaningful use, and public health informatics content prepares HIM professionals for new job responsibilities in order to meet today's, and tomorrow's, workforce needs. EXPANDED! Emphasis on the electronic health care record educates you in methods of data collection, governance, and use. NEW! Chapter on data access and retention provides examples of the paper health record and its transition to the EHR. NEW! Focus on future trends, including specialty certifications offered by the AHIMA, the American Medical Informatics Associations (AMIA), and the Health Information Management Systems Society (HIMSS), explains the vast number of job opportunities and expanded career path awaiting you.
Publication Date: 2015-03-12
Health Records and the Law by Health Records and the Law, Fifth Edition provides essential tools for health professionals who must comply with laws protecting the privacy, confidentiality, and security of patient data.This Fifth Edition addresses the substantial changes brought about by the Health Insurance Portability and Accountability Act (HIPAA) and the growth of network information systems, along with discussion of state laws affecting the use and disclosure of patient data. This thorough revision also examines the challenging area of how patient information may be used in connection with medical research and the impact that the Health Information Technology for Economic and Clinical Health (HITECH) Act is having on public health monitoring and surveillance. Key Features:* Expanded coverage of critical health information management laws and policies such as HIPAA and the HITECH Act* A new chapter on blockchain technology that takes a systematic look at the foundational technologies that are enabling progress in the use of health records* Streamlined content on e-discovery and tort law and its relationship to patient safety* Updated materials in every chapter on corporate compliance and risk management* A new online glossary with definitions of over 800 terms specific to health information management
Publication Date: 2018-09-04
Patient's Healthcare Portfolio by As the healthcare market moves toward an era of patient engagement, population health and patient advocates, practitioners need a practical how-to guide that helps facilitate their teaching with patients and family members on not just writing down or accumulating a personal health record, but an interactive process that converts the personal health information into a data-driven decision-making process. Through numerous forms, templates and real life examples, the author provides the tools to help patients gather critical health information while minimizing their exposure to medical and financial errors.
Publication Date: 2017-03-21
Health Sciences Librarian, OT