Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
View this page in a format suitable for printers and screen-readers or mobile devices.
915 South Jackson Street • Montgomery, Alabama 36101 • (334) 604-9093
Where To Start
A great place to start looking for journal articles is in the Levi Watkins Learning Center's Education Databases.
You will find some databases more helpful than others, depending on your research need(s).
The following databases are good choices for those working on assignments and projects in EDU 321.
Searching databases effectively can make all the difference!
An overview of search strategies can be found here.
Databases To Try
Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window
Multi-disciplinary database provides full text for nearly 7,300 scholarly publications with coverage in virtually every subject area updated daily. Academic Search Premier is a section of this database.
Directory of Open Access Journals This link opens in a new window
The DOAJ (Directory of Open Access Journals) was launched in 2003 at Lund University, Sweden, with 300 open access journals. Today, the independent database contains ca. 12000 open access journals covering all areas of science, technology, medicine, social science and humanities.
Education Full Text (H.W. Wilson) This link opens in a new window
Full text from over 350 journals as far back as 1996 along with indexing of more than 770 periodicals dating back to 1983 with coverage of special education, educational tests, adult education, multicultural/ethnic education, and teaching methods.
Educator's Reference Complete This link opens in a new window
More 400 full-text journals focusing on educational principles, child development and psychology, and best practices in education.
Library Literature & Information Science Full Text This link opens in a new window
Abstracts from as well as some full-text of periodicals, e-books, e-journals, proceedings, pamphlets and library school theses regarding librarianship.