MLK Day - December 2021 / January 2022 - What's Happening @ LWLC - Research Guides Homepage at Alabama State University

"A day on, NOT a day off"

WHEN: January 18, 2021

WHY: It is a federal holiday honoring a modern civil rights fighter. Martin Luther King was born on January 15, 1929 in Atlanta, Georgia and was assassinated on April 4, 1968 in Memphis, Tennessee. 15 years after the death of Dr. King, the U.S. Congress passed a resolution making the third Monday of January a federal holiday which President Ronald Reagan signed into law. Its celebration has taken place each year since 1986.

Photo source: acurator.com (NF); Text: FB

Martin Luther King, Jr. and Montgomery, AL

Martin Luther King became pastor of the Dexter Avenue Baptist Church in Montgomery, Alabama in 1954. He played a leadership role in the 1955-1956 Montgomery Bus Boycott.

Read more about the man and his struggles during the Bus Boycott: http://www.sparknotes.com/biography/mlk/section3.rhtml.

Below is a photo of the King family home in Montgomery, Alabama at 309 South Jackson Street. (Close to ASU!!)

image: house-crazy.com (NF)

image: alamy.com (NF); Text: FB, NF

E-resources

Text: FB, NF

Black Studies Center This link opens in a new window Central location for resources useful for Black studies' instruction and research: Schomburg Studies on the Black Experience, International Index to Black Periodicals, and The Chicago Defender (1935-1975).
Ethnic NewsWatch This link opens in a new window Ethnic NewsWatch is available as two resources, Ethnic NewsWatch™, which is a current collection, and Ethnic NewsWatch: A History™, which is an historical collection. Ethnic NewsWatch™, the current file, covers 1990 to present and includes newspapers, magazines, and journals of the ethnic and minority press, providing researchers access to essential, often overlooked perspectives. The publications offer both national and regional coverage. Ethnic NewsWatch™ is the only current database devoted to presenting multi-ethnic and multi-cultural publications in one resource. Coverage begins in 1990 and is updated daily with new content. Many of the titles are not found in any other aggregated resource. Ethnic NewsWatch: A History™, the historical file covering the years 1959-1989, offers a rare collection of over 30 full-text titles, focusing on African American, Hispanic American, and Native American presses from 1959-1989. Unique perspectives are presented on the most important issues concerning ethnicities and minorities in the U.S. and Canada during the pivotal years of the 1960's, 1970's, and 1980's.
Martin Luther King, Jr. Research and Education Institute This link opens in a new window Information concerning Martin Luther King, Jr.’s life and the movements that were/are inspired by him.

Books & eBooks

Here are some books and e-books accessible to ASU patrons that discuss Dr. Martin Luther King and his life. Text & selections: FB, NF

The Autobiography of Martin Luther King, Jr by Clayborne Carson
Call Number: Special Collections (1st floor) E 185.97 .K5 A52 1998
Publication Date: 1998
Becoming King by Troy Jackson; Clayborne Carson (Introduction by)
Call Number: EBSCO Ebook Collection
Publication Date: 2009
Dear Martin by Nic Stone
Call Number: OverDrive
Publication Date: 2017
Also located in Curriculum / Stacks (5th Floor) PZ 7.1 .S7546 De 2017
The King Years by Taylor Branch
Call Number: Special Collections (1st Floor) E 185.61 .B723 2013
Publication Date: 2013
The Radical King by Martin Luther King; Cornel West (Editor); Martin Luther King
Call Number: Special Collections (1st Floor) E 185.97 .K5 A525 2015
Publication Date: 2015
Ring Out Freedom! by Fredrik Sunnemark
Call Number: EBSCO eBook Collection
Publication Date: 2003
Waking from the Dream by David L. Chappell
Call Number: Special Collections (1st Floor) E 185.97 .K5 C45 2014
Publication Date: 2014

December 2021 / January 2022 - What's Happening @ LWLC: MLK Day

"A day on, NOT a day off"

Martin Luther King, Jr. and Montgomery, AL

E-resources

Books & eBooks