Research Guides Homepage: HISTORY: Open Access Resources

Open Access Websites

These open access resources are also available on Databases by Subject - History / Government / Political Science:

Africa Commons This link opens in a new window
Coordinates Africa-related resources that are held inside and outside Africa via digital format.
African Journals Online This link opens in a new window
This African studies database indexes over 350 peer-reviewed journals published in African countries. Though the database contains material from across a variety of disciplines, the bulk of the material has an African focus.
Alabama Department of Archives and History Digital Collections This link opens in a new window
Various publications from many agencies, boards, and commissions within Alabama state government.
Alabama Maps This link opens in a new window
Freely accessible maps maintained by the Cartographic Research Laboratory, which is based at University of Alabama. Collection includes historical and current maps of Alabama and beyond.
Alabama Mosaic This link opens in a new window
Digital repository of images relating Alabama’s history, culture, places, and people. (AVL)
BlackPast This link opens in a new window
Reference and primary source center related to African American and African history.
Census Bureau This link opens in a new window
Population, economic, and social data as compiled by the U.S. Census Bureau.
CORE - COnnecting REpositories This link opens in a new window
Open access research outputs from repositories and journals throughout the world.
Documenting the American South This link opens in a new window
Sixteen thematic collections of books, diaries, posters, artifacts, letters, oral history interviews, and songs related to southern history, literature, and culture.
Encyclopedia of Alabama This link opens in a new window
History, culture, geography, and natural environment of Alabama.
Google Arts & Culture This link opens in a new window
Access to world’s best artworks and museum exhibits via Art Project, Historic Moments, and World Wonders.
GovInfo This link opens in a new window
Electronic access to information products produced by the Federal Government’s Government Printing Office.
Homeland Security Digital Library This link opens in a new window
Documents related to homeland security policy, strategy, and organizational management.
Infoplease.com This link opens in a new window
Reference site featuring an almanac, atlas, calculator/charts, dictionary, encyclopedia, images, and top 10 lists
Martin Luther King, Jr. Research and Education Institute This link opens in a new window
Information concerning Martin Luther King, Jr.’s life and the movements that were/are inspired by him.
Pew Internet & American Life This link opens in a new window
Information on issues, attitudes, and trends shaping America and the world.
Pew Social & Demographic Trends This link opens in a new window
Pew reports written from 2005-present along with photographs, charts, graphs, and datasets.
Public Agenda for Citizens This link opens in a new window
Non-partisan information on public policy issues along with editorials.
State Agency Databases This link opens in a new window
Links to information published by state, subject, and other resources.
Stateline.org This link opens in a new window
Nonprofit, nonpartisan new site reporting on trends and issues in state policy and politics.
Statistical Abstract of the United States This link opens in a new window
Digital version of the Statistical Abstract of the United States providing U.S. social, political and economic data from 1878 to 2012.
Trans-Atlantic Slave Trade Database This link opens in a new window
Information about the voyages, estimates, and images concerning the trans-Atlantic slave trade.
World Digital Library This link opens in a new window
Digital artifacts spanning the history of civilization.
World Factbook This link opens in a new window
Published by the Central Intelligence Agency, this factbook provides political and economic information for every country and territory.

Blogs and Useful Websites

These are additional free resources related to History with links to other websites and resources:

69 History Websites for Research: Best Sites for Students (Custom Writing) - List of websites with sections on periods, countries, and subjects.

African American Odyssey (Library of Congress)

Best of History Resources (EduTeach via University of Memphis)

Foreign Relations of the United States (University of Wisconsin - Madison) - Published by the U.S. Department of State. Covers 1861-1960 so far. The official documentary historical record of major U.S. foreign policy decisions and significant diplomatic activity.

Historical Statistics of the United States, Colonial Times to 1970 (Dept. of Census)

History Guide - Primary sources, American history, Western civilization, resources for teachers

HistoryWorld - Interactive narratives and timelines for countries, events, and periods.

NARA: National Archives and Record Administration

Resources (Corcoran Department of History, University of Virginia) - Links to the American Historical Association pages regarding resource and career opportunities.

What Are Historical Sources? (History on the Net)

World History Encyclopedia (World History Publishing) - General overviews along with timelines, maps, weights, and primary sources.

History Image

Recommendations?

Suggestions for additional e-resources can be sent to Neil Foulger (nfoulger@alasu.edu) or via the Materials Request Form.

Please provide as much information (especially if it is freely accessible) including the URL and a brief description.

Thank you!