Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
View this page in a format suitable for printers and screen-readers or mobile devices.
915 South Jackson Street • Montgomery, Alabama 36101 • (334) 604-9093
Accessing Full-Text documents
To find full text:
- Check for PDF and HTML links near the citations within the databases.
- To view Table of Contents of select journals go to eJournals on the library's homepage, search for a journal title, choose a database, and view the listing by volume and/or year.
- If full-text article(s) are unavailable, you may request them through the library's interlibrary loan service. Please email me at firstname.lastname@example.org, or call (334) 604-8086 if you need assistance with requesting articles using this service.
- Search Library Catalog with Journal Title to find the journal volume. If our library has volume and issue, article can be scanned on the 1st floor and attached to your email.
- Search DOAJ, Directory of Open Access Journals.
- Search Google Scholar.
Databases for scholarly journal articles, dissertations, theses
OT SEARCH, a bibliographic database covering the literature of occupational therapy and related subject areas. The full text of the indexed resources is not in this database, only the bibliographic information to identify the material and an author's abstract, when one exists. Links to sources for full-text copies are added to records in OT SEARCH when they are available. Currently, OT SEARCH contains over 46,200 records of materials dating from 1910 to the present...
About OT Search, Nov. 20, 2020
OTseeker is a database that contains abstracts of systematic reviews, randomised controlled trials and other resources relevant to occupational therapy interventions. Most trials have been critically appraised for their validity and interpretability. In one database, OTseeker provides fast and easy access to information from a wide range of sources to inform occupational therapy.
Due to a lack of funding for OTseeker, content on OTseeker from 2016 and beyond is not as comprehensive as previously. Therefore, we recommend that users of OTseeker also search for more recent evidence using other freely available search engines and databases such as PEDro, and PubMed.
OTseeker, www.otseeker.com. Nov. 20, 2020
The Physiotherapy Evidence Database (or ‘PEDro’ for short) provides physiotherapists around the world with easy access to high-quality clinical research so they can practise and teach effectively. PEDro is a well-established, robust and trusted site that provides access to over 48,000 randomised controlled trials, systematic reviews and evidence-based clinical practice guidelines relevant to physiotherapy.
https://pedro.org.au/english/about/pedro-information-leaflet/, Nov. 17, 2020
PubMed comprises more than 30 million citations for biomedical literature from MEDLINE, life science journals and online books. Citations may include links to full-text content from PubMed Central and publisher websites.
https://pubmed.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov/, Nov. 20, 2020
Academic Search Premier
An EBSCO multi-disciplinary database provides full-text for more than 4,600 journals including full text for more than 3,900 peer reviewed titles.
Nov. 17, 2020
ProQuest Dissertations & Theses
ProQuest Dissertations & Theses (PQDT) Global is the world's most comprehensive collection of dissertations and theses from around the world, offering millions of works from thousands of universities. Each year hundreds of thousands of works are added. Full-text coverage spans from 1743 to the present, with citation coverage dating back to 1637.
ProQuest Dissertations & Theses, Nov. 17, 2020
How to Find Articles
To search for articles, first go to the LWLC homepage and select "Databases by Subject" in the blue box on the lower left hand portion of the page.
Next, select the subject you want to research such as "Health Science".
A new page will open with a list of databases relevant to the subject.
How to Retain a Search
Almost all research databases have a sign-in procedure so that the searcher can keep and reuse a search strategy. This sign-on can be used to send alerts and new posting from searches. It can also be used to store search results.