Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
View this page in a format suitable for printers and screen-readers or mobile devices.
915 South Jackson Street • Montgomery, Alabama 36101 • (334) 604-9093
"... occupational therapists and occupational therapy assistants help people of all ages participate in the things they want and need to do through the therapeutic use of everyday activities (occupations)... occupational therapy helps people function in all of their environments (e.g., home, work, school, community) and addresses the physical, psychological, and cognitive aspects of their well-being through engagement in occupation.
Occupational Therapy: Improving Function while Controlling Costs, Jan. 7, 2016
Creativity in Occupational Therapy by Understood differently by different people, creativity has been linked to novelty, originality, problem-solving, flexibility, resourcefulness, self-expression, and health maintenance. In this manuscript, creativity is explored through the eyes of an occupational therapist. The author approaches creativity from two angles; as a therapeutic modality and as a way of thinking. The manuscript offers a thorough literature review of creativity and its connections to occupational therapy theory and practice. It brings a historical overview spanning from the days of the Arts and Crafts Movement to contemporary approaches in occupational therapy. Not only is the relevant research gathered and evaluated, but the reader can also find practical applications of research findings to practice. For instance, we learn about the factors that can contribute to the creativity of occupational therapists and how to best foster them in a modern work environment. The author also explores some of the concepts related to the well-being of occupational therapists, such as work satisfaction and work autonomy and their correlations to creativity. The manuscript also presents a novel assessment tool, developed and validated by the author â the Creativity in Occupational Therapy Questionnaire (COTQ) â which is intended for the study of creativity and educational purposes. This manuscript is a must-read for anyone interested in the use of creativity in health care and the evidence behind it. It offers up-to-date information on the subject of creativity in occupational therapy. However, its influence goes beyond a specific discipline. It argues that creativity can be a healing force, for both the client and the therapist, and that we should do more to nurture it in our lives and at work.
Publication Date: 2020-02-20
The Entry Level Occupational Therapy Doctorate Capstone by The purpose of The Entry Level Occupational Therapy Doctorate Capstone: A Framework for The Experience and Project is to provide a step-by-step guide for the development, planning, implementation and dissemination of the entry-level occupational therapy doctoral capstone experience and project. The first entry-level occupational therapy doctorate program was established in 1999, but even now there is a scarcity of occupational therapy resources to guide faculty, prepare students and to socialize mentors to the capstone experience and project. The Entry Level Occupational Therapy Doctorate Capstone by Drs. Elizabeth DeIuliis and Julie Bednarski is the first available resource in the field of occupational therapy devoted to the doctoral capstone. Each chapter provides sample resources and useful documents appropriate for use with occupational therapy doctoral students, faculty, capstone coordinators and site mentors. Included Inside: Templates to develop the MOU, individualized doctoral student objectives, and evaluations Examples of how to structure capstone project proposals Learning activities to guide the literature search and development of a problem statement Strategies of how to approach sustainability and program evaluation of the capstone project Recommendations for structure and formatting of the final written document Additional scholarly products derived from the project Other scholarly deliverables including formats for professional presentations and submissible papers The Entry Level Occupational Therapy Doctorate Capstone: A Framework for The Experience and Project will be the first of its kind to serve as a textbook to provide recommendations that will benefit various stakeholders among the capstone team.
Publication Date: 2020-11-19
Occupational Therapy and Spirituality by Spirituality is an important aspect of occupational therapy theory and practice, yet it remains little understood. This timely book adds to the current debate by exploring the meaning of spirituality within occupational therapy and by outlining evidence which supports this area of practice. Beginning with the three stances surrounding spirituality for the common good and the theology of occupation, throughout its 10 chapters the book goes on to cover topics such as: Spirituality of caring; Theories of spiritual development; Definition of spirituality from occupational therapy literature; Differences between assessing spirituality and religion; Spirituality and ethics; Spiritual and cultural diversity in the occupational therapy clinic; Therapeutic self. By the end of the volume the reader will have the toolset required to consider spiritual concepts and their application to health principles. Occupational Therapy and Spirituality is written in an accessible format and is designed for occupational therapy and occupational science academics, researchers, and graduate students.
Publication Date: 2020-07-30
Occupational Therapy for Adults with Intellectual Disabilities by Occupational Therapy for Adults With Intellectual Disability provides occupational therapy practitioners and students with occupation-based solutions to serve and empower individuals with intellectual disabilities, as well as their families and caregivers, towards more self-determined, authentic lives. There are few texts that exist within occupational therapy that support this population. Dr. Kimberly Bryze and the contributing authors are all occupational therapists who have or currently provide occupational therapy services to adults with intellectual disability in various settings. They bring their expertise in scholarship and offer thoughtful, evidence-based approaches for practitioners to create change for individuals, communities, organizations, and society. This text presents an occupational perspective of individuals with intellectual disability given its focus on the following: quality of living social well-being role competence occupational identity self-advocacy occupational justice Occupational Therapy for Adults with Intellectual Disability is ideal for occupational therapy educators who teach content related to adults with intellectual and developmental disabilities, occupational therapy practitioners who provide services to adults with intellectual disability in various clinical, community, and residential settings, and occupational therapy students. Instructors in educational settings can visit www.efacultylounge.com for additional materials to be used in the classroom. The intentional, occupational focus ensures that the content is consistent with recommended practice in current occupational therapy. Occupational therapy practitioners will look to this text to provide evidence-based interventions and when developing consultative programs for persons with intellectual disability across many different settings.
Publication Date: 2020-01-15
Occupational Therapy for Older People by This book focuses on evidence-based occupational therapy in the care of older adults in different clinical settings, from home to acute hospital, from intensive care unit to rehabilitation centers and nursing homes. Occupational therapy has progressively developed as a new discipline aiming to improve the daily life of individuals of different ages, from children to older adults. The book first reviews the interaction between occupational therapy and geriatrics and then discusses in depth how occupational therapy interventions are applied in the community, in the acute hospital and in the nursing home. It highlights the key role of occupational therapy in the management of frail patients, including critically ill older patients and persons with dementia, and describes in detail how to maintain occupational therapy interventions across different settings to avoid the fragmentation of care. The ageing population requires new innovative approaches to improve the quality of life, and as such this book provides clinicians with handy, key information on how to implement occupational therapy in the daily clinical care of older adults based on the current scientific evidence.
Publication Date: 2020-02-01
Quick Reference Dictionary for Occupational Therapy by A leading resource for occupational therapy practitioners and students for 20 years, now updated with the latest information in the profession, Quick Reference Dictionary for Occupational Therapy, Seventh Edition is a resource for daily practice and academic training. Quick Reference Dictionary for Occupational Therapy, Seventh Edition by Dr. Karen Jacobs and Laela Simon remains the only comprehensive dictionary available specifically for occupational therapy. Containing more than 4,000 words and definitions, more than 60 appendices, and illustrations, graphs, and tables throughout, this definitive text has been updated with the latest information in current occupational therapy practice. New appendices in the Seventh Edition include: Commonly Used Assessments Emerging Practice Areas Expand Your Knowledge Grading Versus Adapting a Task Hand Pathologies State Regulatory Entities Theories and Frames of Reference Useful Apps A handy, conveniently sized reference in an easy-to-use format, Quick Reference Dictionary for Occupational Therapy, Seventh Edition gives occupational therapists, occupational therapy assistants, faculty, and students the most pertinent information they need day to day, right at their fingertips.
Publication Date: 2020-04-01
Health Sciences Librarian, OT