Books & Articles - SSC 450/451 - Research Methods - Research Guides Homepage at Alabama State University

Accessing Books

HORNETCat (Library Catalog)
Worldcat Discovery

How to Find Articles

In order to find articles, first go to the LWLC homepage and select "Databases by Subject" in the blue box on the lower left hand portion of the page. Next, select the subject you're wanting to research such as "Social Science". Finally, a new page will open with a list of databases relevant to that topic.

Interlibrary Loan

Interlibrary Loan (ILL) is a service that allows you to borrow materials that are not available in the library such as books and periodical articles. ILL requests are made directly through WorldCat.

Montgomery Higher Education Consortium

The Montgomery Higher Education Consortium allows you to have access to all library materials at other institutions in Montgomery. To use this service, ASU students should complete a form and obtain a Consortium sticker from the Information Desk. The other institutions include: Huntingdon College, Faulkner University, Auburn University Montgomery, and Troy University Montgomery.

Books in the LWLC

General Collection Resources Items located on the 4th and 5th floors that students may check-out.
Course Reserves Select the tab for Course Reserves. Here, course materials made available to students by certain instructors are listed.
Archives & Special Collections Located on the 2nd floor, this collection contains first editions, rare books, and signed copies of topics such as Slavery, the Civil War, Reconstruction, Segregation, Jim Crow Laws in Alabama, history of ASU, Lincoln Normal School, and the Civil Rights Movement in Alabama. Items in this collection cannot be checked out, or taken from the area.

EBSCO eBooks (formerly NetLibrary) This link opens in a new window
Collection of electronic books (e-books) which are also accessible via HORNETCat. Formerly known as NetLibrary.

Helpful Databases

Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window
Multi-disciplinary database provides full text for nearly 7,300 scholarly publications with coverage in virtually every subject area updated daily. Academic Search Premier is a section of this database.
Black Studies Center This link opens in a new window
Central location for resources useful for Black studies' instruction and research: Schomburg Studies on the Black Experience, International Index to Black Periodicals, and The Chicago Defender (1935-1975).
Criminal Justice Abstracts with Full Text This link opens in a new window
Criminal Justice Abstracts with Full Text™ contains more than 400,000 records selected from the most important sources within the discipline. Subject areas covered include: criminology; criminal justice; criminal law and procedure; corrections and prisons; police and policing; criminal investigation; forensic sciences and investigation; history of crime; substance abuse and addiction; probation and parole.
Ethnic NewsWatch This link opens in a new window
Ethnic NewsWatch is available as two resources, Ethnic NewsWatch™, which is a current collection, and Ethnic NewsWatch: A History™, which is an historical collection.

Ethnic NewsWatch™, the current file, covers 1990 to present and includes newspapers, magazines, and journals of the ethnic and minority press, providing researchers access to essential, often overlooked perspectives. The publications offer both national and regional coverage. Ethnic NewsWatch™ is the only current database devoted to presenting multi-ethnic and multi-cultural publications in one resource. Coverage begins in 1990 and is updated daily with new content. Many of the titles are not found in any other aggregated resource.

Ethnic NewsWatch: A History™, the historical file covering the years 1959-1989, offers a rare collection of over 30 full-text titles, focusing on African American, Hispanic American, and Native American presses from 1959-1989. Unique perspectives are presented on the most important issues concerning ethnicities and minorities in the U.S. and Canada during the pivotal years of the 1960's, 1970's, and 1980's.
General OneFile This link opens in a new window
General OneFile is a comprehensive general-interest resource providing periodical and news information. In addition, General OneFile also features more than 500 travel guides; a full collection of National Public Radio programs from 1990 to the present; links to over 5,000 video files; more than 3,000 full-text titles recommended by Bowker’s “Magazines for Libraries”.
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
JSTOR (Journal Storage) Arts & Sciences I, II, III, IV, and VII consist of an archive of over 900 refereed, scholarly journals.
ProQuest Dissertations & Theses Global This link opens in a new window
Contains citations for dissertations starting with 1861, abstracts for dissertations from 1980, abstracts for master's theses from 1988, and full-text access to dissertations (via PDF) from 1997 to the present. Previously named Digital Dissertations.