Research Guides Homepage: POLITICAL SCIENCE: Open Access Resources

Open Access Websites

Open access resources related to Political Science:

Africa Commons This link opens in a new window
Coordinates Africa-related resources that are held inside and outside Africa via digital format.
African Journals Online This link opens in a new window
This African studies database indexes over 350 peer-reviewed journals published in African countries. Though the database contains material from across a variety of disciplines, the bulk of the material has an African focus.
Alabama Department of Archives and History Digital Collections This link opens in a new window
Various publications from many agencies, boards, and commissions within Alabama state government.
Alabama Mosaic This link opens in a new window
Digital repository of images relating Alabama’s history, culture, places, and people. (AVL)
BlackPast This link opens in a new window
Reference and primary source center related to African American and African history.
Black Women's Suffrage Digital Collection This link opens in a new window
Materials (photographs, correspondence, speeches, event programs, publications, oral histories, and other artifacts) documenting the roles and experiences of Black Women in the Women’s Suffrage Movement and, more broadly, women’s rights, voting rights, and civic activism between the 1850s and 1960.
Census Bureau This link opens in a new window
Population, economic, and social data as compiled by the U.S. Census Bureau.
CORE - COnnecting REpositories This link opens in a new window
Open access research outputs from repositories and journals throughout the world.
Documenting the American South This link opens in a new window
Sixteen thematic collections of books, diaries, posters, artifacts, letters, oral history interviews, and songs related to southern history, literature, and culture.
Encyclopedia of Alabama This link opens in a new window
History, culture, geography, and natural environment of Alabama.
GovInfo This link opens in a new window
Electronic access to information products produced by the Federal Government’s Government Printing Office.
Homeland Security Digital Library This link opens in a new window
Documents related to homeland security policy, strategy, and organizational management.
Infoplease.com This link opens in a new window
Reference site featuring an almanac, atlas, calculator/charts, dictionary, encyclopedia, images, and top 10 lists
Infoplease.com This link opens in a new window
Reference site featuring an almanac, atlas, calculator/charts, dictionary, encyclopedia, images, and top 10 lists
Pew Internet & American Life This link opens in a new window
Information on issues, attitudes, and trends shaping America and the world.
Pew Social & Demographic Trends This link opens in a new window
Pew reports written from 2005-present along with photographs, charts, graphs, and datasets.
Public Agenda for Citizens This link opens in a new window
Non-partisan information on public policy issues along with editorials.
State Agency Databases This link opens in a new window
Links to information published by state, subject, and other resources.
Stateline.org This link opens in a new window
Nonprofit, nonpartisan new site reporting on trends and issues in state policy and politics.
Statistical Abstract of the United States This link opens in a new window
Digital version of the Statistical Abstract of the United States providing U.S. social, political and economic data from 1878 to 2012.
World Factbook This link opens in a new window
Published by the Central Intelligence Agency, this factbook provides political and economic information for every country and territory.

Blogs and Useful Websites

These are additional free resources related to Political Science with links to other websites and resources:

80 Best Political Science Blogs and Websites (Feedspot) - Per search and social activity, this list is updated weekly.

American Political Science Association

American political websites (Wikipedia)

Constitute - Comprehensive analysis of the world's constitutions.

Council on Foreign Relations

Growing Directory of Political Science Blogs: Find What's New and Next (PoliSciData)

Politlcal Science Textbooks and Full Courses (OER) - Affiliated resources with brief descriptions and ways to search for more specific textbooks and courses.

United States Government Manual (GovInfo)

Useful Websites: Political Science (University of Kentucky) - Links to political parties, government departments, news organizations, interest groups, and research links (note: you'll get better access to JSTOR and Lexis Nexis [now Nexus Uni] here!).

VoteView.com (UCLA Department of Political Science) - Every congressional roll call vote in American history on a map of the United States and on a liberal-conservative ideological map including information about the ideological positions of voting Senators and Representatives.

Political Science Image

Recommendations?

Suggestions for additional e-resources can be sent to Neil Foulger (nfoulger@alasu.edu).

If the e-resource has no cost, include URL, relevant subject(s), and a brief description.

Thank you!