Research Guides Homepage: Support for Education Doctoral Students: Finding Articles

Accessing Databases Off-Campus

Go to the Library's web site www.lib.alasu.edu
Click on Databases
Select a database from the subject areas or from the alphabetical listing
The login screen will ask that you:
1. Enter your Campus ID without hyphens
1. Enter your LAST NAME in lower case
Once in the database enter your search terms in the search boxes provided

If you are in our system and unable to login to the databases please send an email to rcurtis@alasu.edu for support.

If you need help using the databases please contact the Reference Desk (334) 229-4110.

How to Find Articles

In order to find articles, first go to the LWLC homepage and select "Databases by Subject" in the blue box in the lower left portion of the page. Next, select the subject you'd like to research, such as "Education." Finally, a new page will open with a list of databases relevant to that topic.

For one-on-one research assistance, please email jplatt@alasu.edu to request an appointment.

Recommended Databases

ERIC This link opens in a new window ERIC is an online library of education research and information, sponsored by the Institute of Education Sciences (IES) of the U.S. Department of Education. The site provides free searches of all ERIC documents and journal articles with downloading and viewing possible for ERIC documents from 1993 to the present. Supersedes EDRS.
ERIC (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window Citation and abstract information for ERIC documents and journals with linked full-text to ERIC documents from 1993 to the present along with journals located in other EBSCO databases. (AVL)
ProQuest Dissertations & Theses Global This link opens in a new window Contains citations for dissertations starting with 1861, abstracts for dissertations from 1980, abstracts for master's theses from 1988, and full-text access to dissertations (via PDF) from 1997 to the present. Previously named Digital Dissertations.