Skip to Main Content
View this page in a format suitable for printers and screen-readers or mobile devices.
915 South Jackson Street • Montgomery, Alabama 36101 • (334) 604-9093
Programs in Rehabilitation Studies explore models and theories that examine the social, political, cultural, and economic factors that define disability.
https://www.alasu.edu/chs/rehabilitation-studies/department-rehabilitation-studies, Nov. 24, 2020
Clinical Handbook of Co-Existing Mental Health and Drug and Alcohol Problems by
Co-existing mental health and drug and alcohol problems occur frequently in primary care and clinical settings. Despite this, health professionals rarely receive training in how to detect, assess and formulate interventions for co-existing problems and few clinical guidelines exist. This Handbook provides an exciting and highly useful addition to this area. Leading clinicians from the UK, the US and Australia provide practical descriptions of assessments and interventions for co-existing problems. These will enable professionals working with co-existing problems to understand best practice and ensure that people with co-existing problems receive optimal treatment. A range of overarching approaches are covered, including: * working within a cognitive behavioural framework; * provision of consultation-liaison services, training and supervision; * individual, group and family interventions; and * working with rurally isolated populations. The contributors also provide detailed descriptions of assessments and treatments for a range of disorders when accompanied by drug and alcohol problems, including anxiety, depression, schizophrenia, bipolar disorder and learning difficulties. The Clinical Handbook of Co-existing Mental Health and Drug and Alcohol Problems will enhance clinicians' confidence in working with people with co-existing problems. It will prove a valuable resource for all psychologists, psychiatrists, counsellors, social workers and all those working in both primary and secondary care health settings.
Publication Date: 2007-03-06
Cognitive-Behavioral Treatment for Generalized Anxiety Disorder by
By focusing on the cognitive-behavioral model and treatment options, Dugas and Robichaud present a detailed analysis of the etiology, assessment, and treatment of Generalized Anxiety Disorder (GAD). Cognitive-Behavioral Treatment for Generalized Anxiety Disorder: From Science to Practiceprovides a review of the empirical support for the different models of GAD. It includes a detailed description of the assessment and step-by-step treatment of GAD (including many examples of therapist-client dialogue), data on treatment efficacy in individual and group therapy, and concludes with a description of maintenance and follow-up strategies.
Publication Date: 2006-11-14
The Endangered Self by
To date, the majority of HIV/AIDS research has concentrated on education and prevention for those with a seronegative status, while studies of HIV positive individuals have been concerned with their potential to infect others. The Endangered Self however, focuses on how the discovery of an HIV positive status affects the individual's sense of identity, on the experience of living with HIV and its effects on the individual's social relationships. In this comparative study of the UK and US, Green and Sobo explore identity change and the stigma attached to an HIV positive status within the context of the sociology of risk. Chapters discuss issues such as: *identity, social risk and AIDS *stigma *living and coping with HIV *the danger of disclosure *reported reactions in health care settings and sexual settings *risk and reality *seropositivity. The Endangered Self will be of interest to all those infected with HIV and to their families, partners, friends and caregivers who are affected by it. It will be essential reading for health-care professionals and those studying medical anthropology, sociology and health and risk studies.
Publication Date: 2000-06-05
Handbook of Motivation and Change by
Handbook of Motivation and Change: A Practical Guide for Clinicians is a busy clinician's guide to Motivational Interviewing. With a special focus on substance use disorders and addiction, this unique handbook equips readers with a full understanding of the Motivational Interviewing approach -- an understanding that readers can flexibly apply to address patients' issues of motivation and change even beyond substance use. A multidisciplinary book, written by more than 20 practitioners of different psychotherapies who employ motivational work, this volume features a collection of case studies punctuated by movie references that illustrate discussed concepts, practical suggestions for treatment and trainee supervision, and summary key points and multiple-choice questions for readers. Authors focus on interventions ranging from psychopharmacology to support groups like Alcoholics Anonymous, zero in on the unique challenges of treating patients at various stages of their lives, examine how motivational work can change a culture, and discuss the evidence base of this effective and compelling therapy. The practical reach of this handbook will appeal not only to the general psychiatrist but to family practitioners, internists, pediatricians, medical students, and allied professionals. More than a how-to manual, this book provides clinicians with expert insight and information that will help them meet their patients in the midst of the very real challenges of motivation and lasting change. This handbook: * Provides actual case studies written by psychiatrists working directly with patients with substance use disorders.* Is built on the main theoretical platforms of two ground-breaking innovations in addiction treatment: 1) Prochaska and DiClemente's transtheoretical or stages of change model and 2) Miller and Rollnick's Motivational Interviewing.* Explores the fundamentals of motivation and change, the stages of those changes, and how to treat patients at various stages of change.* Reviews the intersection of motivational work with other interventions from psychopharmacology to Alcoholics Anonymous.* Details the unique challenges of treating patients throughout the life cycle, including adolescents and older adults. Handbook of Motivation and Change: A Practical Guide for Clinicians is accessible to both clinicians with an interest in substance use disorders and to clinicians who do not have specialized knowledge or expertise in addiction treatment. Its 16 chapters are augmented by two appendixes featuring Internet resources and movie listings that demonstrate a wide range of addiction- and change-related topics. This handbook will be a well-used diagnostic reference in the library of any professional seeking a better understanding of motivational work and the treatment of substance use disorders.
Publication Date: 2010-05-06
Strategies for Building Multicultural Competence in Mental Health and Educational Settings by
"A must-read book for all mental health professionals wanting tokeep up with today's most important clients...practical, concrete,hands-on details from firsthand experts on ethnicpopulations." --Richard Suinn, PhD, Colorado State University, Past president(1999), American Psychological Association The rich mosaic of racial and ethnic diversity defines our societynow more than ever. For students and professional psychologists,this translates into a critical need to address a range of culturaldiversity issues, as well as potential biases. Recently, the American Psychological Association (APA) recognizedthe importance of cultural competence for psychologists through itsadoption of its Multicultural Guidelines. Applying those guidelinesto real-world practice is both complex and challenging. Only onetext brings it all into sharp focus: Strategies for BuildingMulticultural Competence in Mental Health and EducationalSettings. Edited and written by renowned multicultural experts, thisinformative guide is full of concrete strategies and case examples,all geared toward achieving the goal of culturally competentpractice. Chapter by chapter, it uses a variety of practicemodalities in various settings to help all mental healthprofessionals increase their familiarity and compliance with theAPA Multicultural Guidelines. Beginning with a useful summary of the APA guidelines, Strategiesfor Building Multicultural Competence in Mental Health andEducational Settings covers the guidelines' relevance to: * Individual and group counseling * Couples and family counseling * Career counseling with people of color * Independent practice settings * Multicultural consultations and organizational change * Academic mental health training settings * Clinical and hospital settings * College counseling center settings * Elementary and secondary school settings This timely reference also considers building multiculturalcompetence around indigenous healing practices; in clinicalsupervision contexts; and in culturally sensitive research. Takentogether, the book is a much-needed blueprint for making culturallyinformed decisions, explaining how the multicultural initiativesyou implement today can he'p shape the field's future.
Publication Date: 2005-03-11
Health Sciences Librarian, OT