Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

The Bama State Experience: Home

This LibGuide serves as a resource to identify the people, places, and events that have shaped–and continue to shape–ASU. Its remarkable past of over 150 years, and its significant role in the present day, will lead it into a celebrated future.

To experience all that this guide has to offer, be sure to click through the different tabs at the top of the page, or on the links in the paragraph above.

Researching ASU and Our Collections

Click around our selected tour featuring sample ASU-focused materials from our collections or browse our collections directly:

  • Visit the Levi Watkins Learning Center Digital Collections
  • Search the Alabama State University Archives Collections or schedule a research appointment to visit the collections in person

ASU Athletics and Band

Alabama State University maintains championship-winning athletic programs and is a member of the Southwestern Athletic Conference (SWAC). Alabama State University is also home to the nationally renowned Mighty Marching Hornets Band.

Magic City Classic, 1971

Magic City Classic, 1971

 

Alabama State University Marching Hornets Band, Magic City Classic, 1972

ASU Band, Magic City Classic, 1972

 

NAIA Basketball Championship Game, Alabama State University vs. Cameron University, 1980

NAIA Basketball Championship Game, 1980

»Browse other audiovisual materials«

John Jones Collection

An athlete and graduate of Alabama State University, and then professor of freshman English and education for more than twenty years, Dr. John H. Jones dedicated his life to pushing physical performance and to cultivating the intellectual potential of his students. During his tenure at Alabama State, Dr. Jones also picked up a love for photography. For over thirty years this college professor captured campus life through the lens of his camera.
 

Alabama State Graduation, Circa 1970s

Alabama State Graduation, circa 1970

ASU Graduation a group of people are gathered around the Equinox Monument, it was erected in 1974.

Five Delta Pledges, Circa 1960s

Five Delta Pledges, circa 1960s

Five Delta pledges singing at ASU, circa 1960s

Alabama State University Art Exhibit, Circa 1950s

Alabama State University Art Exhibit, circa 1950

Black and white photograph of an Art Exhibit. Harper C. Trenholm, Jr. is the male on the right, circa 1950.

ASU Cheerleaders

ASU Cheerleaders

Black and White photograph of ASU cheer leaders showing that they have hornet spirit.

»Browse other photos from the John Jones Collection«

Aerial Views of ASU Campus

Aerial images of the Alabama State University campus have been taken over the past half-century and give a bird's-eye view of the physical plant at different points in time.

Aerial View, 2019

Aerial View of ASU, 2019

Aerial View, 1958

Aerial View of ASU, 1958

»Browse other Aerial Views of ASU«

The Alma Mater (University Hymn)

The Alma Mater has been sung at a variety of university events, including (but not limited to), convocations, sporting events and commencements for over one hundred years. »Click here to listen«

Alabama State, O Mother Dear
Again we come to thee
Our pains and sorrows we forget
When e’er thy face we see
O happy harbor, blessed place
O sweet and pleasant soil
In thee we hope, in thee we trust
For thee we pray and toil.
Thy Sons and Daughters love thy halls
Aglow with truth and light
And every heart beats true to thee
In whom there is no night
O Alma Mater, fair and dear
We proudly hail thy name
Which far and near is known and loved
And crowned with glowing fame.
Thy campus flowers and shady walks
Bring thoughts of Marion Green
Before thy trials in Beulah Vale
Which God from us did screen
But now we stand on College Heights
Content with God’s decree
For all He does is right and good
And makes for liberty.

—Written by James Edward McCall

 

Copyright © is retained in accordance with U.S. Copyright laws. No commercial reproduction or distribution of Alabama State University materials is permitted without the written permission of Alabama State University.

View this page in a format suitable for printers and screen-readers or mobile devices. 915 South Jackson Street • Montgomery, Alabama 36101 • (334) 604-9093