Learn more about ASU through collections in other repositories, books about ASU or by ASU Alumni, or reach out to us if you are a former Alumni.
Forget to check out ASU Origins, ASU Impact, and ASU Evolution? Click on one of the links listed in the previous question or one of the tabs at the top of the page.
A Fire You Can't Put Out by 
Bus Ride to Justice (Revised Edition) by 
From Marion to Montgomery by 
And the Walls Came Tumbling Down by 
Rosa Parks by In addition to the historic ASU student newspapers located in the Levi Watkins Learning Center's collections, recent editions of The Hornet Tribune can also be found online. »Click here to visit«
Coaches Charles Johnson Dunn and George Herbert Lockhart sit on the ends of the back row. At the time of the photograph, the school was probably called either State Teachers College or Alabama State College for Negroes.
Four young women in front of Tullibody Hall on the campus of what would later become Alabama State University in Montgomery, Alabama. At the time of the photograph, the school was probably called either State Normal School or State Teachers College. The girls are labeled on the back of the photograph as follows: "1. Brains 2. Beauty 3. Bananas 4. Beautiful."
The HBCU Library Alliance Digital Collections features a collection on the early history of the Alabama State University comprised of images reflecting the people, institutions, and structures important to the early history of the school. These images preserve the heritage of Alabama State University during its early years of struggle as it survived in the midst of Jim Crow segregation and thrived with the support of the African-American community in the cradle of the Confederacy and the modern civil rights movement. This collection contains items having the following themes: Churches, Campus Buildings, Presidents, and Faculty.
The Howard University Libraries is home to the papers of H. Councill Trenholm (1900-1963), college president and educational official, which span the period from 1882 to 1964, and measure thirty-four linear feet. H. Councill Trenholm headed Alabama State College for thirty-seven years. The collection focuses on his role at Alabama State and his involvement in numerous educational organizations.
The mission of Alabama State University's Archives is to preserve and make accessible materials that document the experiences of the ASU community.
Reach out to our Archives Department if you would like your own ASU experience documented or to donate a collection.
For all inquiries, call (334) 229-6827 between 10:00 am - 3:00 pm, Monday - Thursday, or send research questions, request for appointments, and general archive questions to: archives@alasu.edu.
Copyright © is retained in accordance with U.S. Copyright laws. No commercial reproduction or distribution of Alabama State University materials is permitted without the written permission of Alabama State University.