This collection highlights the incredible faculty and staff of Alabama State University. Because of our incredible faculty and staff, their tremendous talent, skills, and Hornet Pride, ASU has and will continue to be an exceptional university.
As a faculty member and administrator at Alabama State University, Dr. Freeman initiated and directed the implementation of a number of programs in the University College for freshman students, including the academic support centers in writing, mathematics, speech, history, and geography; interdisciplinary humanities courses; writing across the curriculum; and the freshman honors program. She served on numerous university committees and served as an adviser to several students’ organizations; among these was secretary and chair of the Faculty Senate, Faculty Marshal, and advisor to the Student Media Board. She was also a plaintiff in the historic Knight v. James/Knight v. Alabama Desegregation Lawsuit which proved that Alabama’s long history of segregation had adversely affected post-secondary educational opportunities of African American citizens.
»Visit our finding aid for the Dr. Alma Freeman Collection«
»Also visit our finding aid for the Dr. Alma Freedman Oral History«
Mary Fair Burks was an American educator, scholar, and civil rights activist from Montgomery, Alabama. She was head of the English department at Alabama State College in the late 1940s and early 1950s. In 1946, she founded the Women’s Political Council (WPC), an organization that promoted civic involvement, helped increase voter registration, and lobbied city officials to address racist policies. In 1955-56, she and other WPC members helped initiate and provide support for the Montgomery Bus Boycott.
Alabama State University played an integral role in the Civil Rights Movement. The actions of ASU's faculty and staff were essential in energizing the Movement.
Ralph David Abernathy was a leader in the modern American Civil Rights Movement, a minister and close associate of Martin Luther King, Jr. in the Southern Christian Leadership Conference. Following King’s assassination, Dr. Abernathy accepted the leadership of the SCLC Poor People’s Campaign and led the March on Washington in the District of Columbia (D.C.) that had been planned for May 1968.
Ralph David Abernathy was born on March 11, 1926 to W.L. Abernathy and Louivery Bell Abernathy on a farm in Linden, Alabama. He attended Linden Academy, a Baptist School founded by the First Mt. Pleasant District Association. He was financially supported by his father. At Linden Academy, Abernathy led his first demonstration, to protest the inferior science laboratory and as a result of his persistent actions. After graduation he enrolled at Alabama State College. He was ordained a Baptist minister in 1948 and in 1950 he received a Bachelor’s Degree in mathematics from Alabama State College.
»Visit our finding aid for the Ralph David Abernathy Collection«
»See other material from our ASU Alumni Collection«
Aurelia Shines Browder Coleman (January 29, 1919-February 4, 1971). Teacher, Seamstress, Civil Rights Activist. She completed high school in her thirties and eventually earned a BS degree in science from Alabama State University. She graduated with honors and was inducted into Alpha Kappa Mu, the honor society.
While at ASU, Browder became acquainted with Jo Ann Gibson Robinson, a professor in the English Department who inspired her to participate in the lawsuit then proposed by the Montgomery Improvement Association (MIA).
»Visit our finding aid for the Aurelia Browder Collection«
Rev. Richard Charles Boone (July 7, 1937-October 14, 2013). Civil Rights Activist, Minister. He attended Lab High at Alabama State Teachers’ College and joined the Air Force before graduating at the age of 16. Rev. Boone later earned his GED and enrolled at Alabama State University, majoring in political science and history. After graduation, Boone attended Phillip’s Theological Seminary in Atlanta, obtaining a master’s degree in theology.
Boone became a field secretary for the SCLC. On March 24, 1965, Rev. Boone led a group of 800 mostly high school and college students from Alabama State University to West Montgomery to join 25,000 marchers who had completed their five-day protest march from Selma. Boone’s civil rights efforts didn’t end with the Selma March, and he fought on behalf of African-American rights, mostly at the local level, for the rest of his life. Boone established the Alabama Action Committee and focused its efforts in Montgomery, where he staged protests against local businesses, demanding African Americans be included in the workforce.
»Visit our finding aid for the Reverend Richard Boone Collection«
»Also visit our finding aid for audio visual materials related to Reverend Richard Boone«
Beyond Civil Rights causes, other individuals have represented ASU well.
Representative John Knight, retired Executive Vice President and Chief Operating Officer of Alabama State University, was elected to the Alabama House of Representatives in 1993. He was born on June 7, 1952, and is the father of two children, Tamara and Tehrik.
Knight earned a Bachelor of Science degree with honors in Business Administration from Alabama State University and was later awarded an honorary Doctor of Laws degree from Alabama A&M University in recognition of his service and leadership.
Throughout his career, Knight has been deeply involved in civic and community service. He serves on the Board of Directors for the Kershaw YMCA, the Montgomery Housing Authority, the Montgomery Improvement Association, the Southern Development Council, Inc., and the Cleveland Avenue YMCA. He also chairs the Montgomery County Democratic Conference.
Knight is widely known as the lead plaintiff in Knight v. State of Alabama, a landmark lawsuit challenging the state’s higher education funding practices. The case focused on issues of racial fairness and the unequal funding of Alabama’s two state-supported historically Black universities—Alabama State University and Alabama A&M University
»Visit our finding aid for the Representative John F. Knight, Jr. Papers«
»See other highlighted faculty and staff«
Joe Louis Reed is a native of Evergreen, Alabama, and served as Associate Executive Secretary of the Alabama Education Association—one of the most influential public interest organizations in the state—until his retirement in 2011. Reed served a tour of duty in the U.S. Army in Korea before attending Alabama State University, where he was elected President of both the Junior Class and the Student Body. He later earned a Master’s degree in Political Science from Case Western Reserve University. In recognition of his contributions, Alabama State University awarded him an honorary Doctor of Laws degree in 1980.
A former Chairman of the ASU Board of Trustees, Reed's leadership is reflected across the university’s campus. Major developments during his tenure include the construction of C.J. Dunn Towers, the Acadome, the Martin Luther King Jr. and Bessie Estell dormitories, the Olean Black Underwood 12-court tennis complex, and the acquisition of Bel Air and surrounding properties—an expansion that effectively doubled the size of the Montgomery campus. His efforts also led to the purchase of Southern Normal School in Brewton, Alabama, adding an additional 400 acres to the university’s holdings. Reed is also the primary donor of the Alabama State Teachers Association (ASTA) and Alabama Democratic Conference (ADC) collections, both of which are currently being processed into the Alabama State University Archives.
»See the Joe Reed Oral History with the National Center«
»Also visit our finding aid for other audio-visual materials related to Joe Reed«
Thad McClammy (October 22, 1942 – August 21, 2021) was a Democratic member of the Alabama House of Representatives, serving from 1994 until his passing in 2021. He represented Alabama’s 76th District. Originally from Beatrice, Alabama, McClammy earned a Bachelor’s degree from Alabama State University in 1966 and a Master’s degree in Vocational and Adult Education from Auburn University at Montgomery in 1975.
He was active in several religious and civic committees. His professional background included roles as a real estate broker, positions with the City of Montgomery and Trenholm State Technical College, and work with Tots and Teens Incorporated. He later became the owner of Capitol Realty. Thad McClammy passed away on August 21, 2021, in Atlanta, Georgia, at the age of 78.
»Visit our finding aid for the Representative Thad McClammy Collection«
»Also visit our finding aid for the Representative Thad McClammy Oral History«
Ross Dunn (September 19th, 1931 - March 13th, 2005) served as a Chambers County Commissioner and was a lifelong advocate for education and public service. Born in Lanett, Alabama, in 1931, Dunn attended Lanier High School before enrolling at Alabama State University, where he graduated in 1959. Years later, he became one of the university’s first trustees when the board was established in 1976, serving for 20 years. During his tenure, he was instrumental in securing donations for ASU’s $1.5 million “Endowment of Excellence” campaign.
Dunn represented District 1 as a county commissioner for over 16 years and was the first commissioner from Chambers County to complete all levels of continuing education at Auburn University’s Center for Government Services. He passed away on March 13, 2005, in Lanett, Alabama, at the age of 73.
»Visit our finding aid for the Ross Dunn Collection«
Alvin Holmes (October 23rd, 1939 - November 21st, 2020) was a member of the Alabama State Legislature, representing the 78th District. Alvin Holmes received a BS, Alabama State University, LLD, Jones School of Law, MA, Alabama State University, M.Ed., Alabama State University, O.I.C., University of Pennsylvania.
He is the father of a daughter, Veronica. Holmes is a licensed real estate broker and a college educator. He is a member of the Hutchinson Missionary Baptist Church, the State Democratic Executive Committee, Kappa Alpha Psi Fraternity, the Southern Christian Leadership Conference, the Montgomery Improvement Association, and NAACP. Alvin Holmes Died on November 21st, 2021, he was 81 years old.
»Visit our finding aid for the Alvin Holmes Oral History«
Tavaris Jackson (April 21, 1983 – April 12, 2020) was born and raised in Montgomery, Alabama, and graduated from Sidney Lanier High School in 2001. He began his collegiate football career with the University of Arkansas Razorbacks, but a season-ending injury sidelined his freshman year. In 2003, Jackson transferred to Alabama State University, where he made an immediate impact as quarterback. That year, he led the Hornets to an 8–5 record, a Southwestern Athletic Conference (SWAC) Eastern Division title, and a berth in the SWAC Championship Game. He completed 160 of 316 passes for 2,342 yards, 18 touchdowns, and 13 interceptions while rushing for 444 yards and 5 touchdowns on 91 carries.
As a junior in 2004, Jackson was named SWAC Championship MVP during Alabama State’s second 10-win season in school history. Starting 11 of 12 games, he completed 182 of 349 passes for 2,556 yards, 20 touchdowns, and 9 interceptions. He also rushed for 253 yards and 3 touchdowns on 65 carries. Jackson was selected 64th overall in the second round of the 2006 NFL Draft by the Minnesota Vikings. Over the course of his professional career, he played for the Vikings, the Buffalo Bills, and the Seattle Seahawks. He was a member of the Seahawks team that won Super Bowl XLVIII in 2013.
Tavaris Jackson passed away on April 12, 2020, at the age of 36.
Copyright © is retained in accordance with U.S. Copyright laws. No commercial reproduction or distribution of Alabama State University materials is permitted without the written permission of Alabama State University.