Research Guides Homepage: HIM 310 The Study of Diseases: Welcome

Example of Group Project: Rare Disease/Disorder Case Study

Each group is to identify and review resources on the topic by visiting the LWLC or another library to review refereed journals or books and search the internet.

Outline for the Project: (1) HIstory of the disease/disorder, (2) Explain the etiology/manifestations of the disease and describe the part of the body the disease effects, (3) Describe the incidents and if any, various types of the disease/disorder, (4) Look for information regarding signs/symptoms of the disease and explain them, (5) Explain the disease process, (6) What is occurring compared to normal body physiology, (7) Identify diagnostic tests that the physician would order based on the patient's signs/symptoms, (8) Write a paragraph describing the tests that clearly defines what they are for and detailed results, (9) Is the prognosis of the disease good or bad? and (10) Provide additional information such as websites, support groups, etc.

Your project will be presented in Power Point format.

Title page should include the topic name and group researchers. Please provide copy for instructor.

Syllabus: HIM 310- The Study of Diseases Professor: L. George-Reynolds

Course Guides

HIM 310 The Study of Diseases

HIM 325 Applied Research

Research Databases

Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window Multi-disciplinary database provides full text for nearly 7,300 scholarly publications with coverage in virtually every subject area updated daily. Academic Search Premier is a section of this database.
Gale OneFile: Health and Medicine This link opens in a new window Integrates millions of articles from nursing and allied health journals, newspapers, magazines, newsletters, and consumer health information sources.
Medline Plus This link opens in a new window U.S. National Library of Medicine's web site for consumer health information, and includes over 500 health topics and a guide to more than 9,000 prescription and over-the-counter medications.
PubMed This link opens in a new window Service of the National Library of Medicine that provides access to over 11 million MEDLINE citations back to the mid-1960's and additional life science journals. PubMed includes links to many sites providing full text articles and other related resources.