Research Guides Homepage: MUSIC: Finding Articles

Databases for Music

These electronic resources have direct access to music-related content.

You will need to log-in for off-campus access (see box below).

African American Music Reference This link opens in a new window African American Music Reference will contain 50,000 pages that offers the first comprehensive coverage of blues, jazz, spirituals, civil rights songs, slave songs, minstrelsy, rhythm and blues, gospel, and other forms of black American musical expression. This resource is provided by Alexander St. Press/Proquest.
Choral Public Domain Library This link opens in a new window Hosts free scores of at least 36888 choral and vocal works by at least 3679 composers.
Grove Music Online This link opens in a new window Central location for Grove Music Online, Oxford Companion to Music, and Oxford Dictionary of Music. Also known as Oxford Music Online
IPASource This link opens in a new window IPA Source is a trusted resource for assisting educators and singers with language understanding and pronunciation with15,750 professionally translated and transcribed titles including texts of arias, art song and liturgical texts in French, Italian, German, Spanish, English and Latin representing works from 925 composers and 1,141 poets.

Go to the Library's web site www.lib.alasu.edu
Under Research Tools, there are three options in accessing databases:
1.) All of our electronic databases are listed under Databases by Title.
2.) All of our electronic databases are also listed under A-Z Database List.
3.) If you would like resources in a particular subject, visit Databases by Subject.
Select a database from the subject areas or from the alphabetical listing
The login screen will ask that you:
1. Enter your Campus ID without hyphens
1. Enter your LAST NAME in lower case
Once in the database enter your search terms in the search boxes provided

If you are in our system and unable to login to the databases please send an email to rcurtis@alasu.edu for support.

If you need help using the databases, please contact the Reference Desk (334) 604-9093 or send e-mail to Randy Curtis at rcurtis@alasu.edu.

These Links will help you develop and create Music

Choose the Scholarly/Peer-Reviewed Journal checkbox in each database before you hit search.
Limit your search to full text only if you’re interested in finding articles that are immediately available.