Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
View this page in a format suitable for printers and screen-readers or mobile devices.
915 South Jackson Street • Montgomery, Alabama 36101 • (334) 604-9093
Course-Related Library Databases
Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window
Multi-disciplinary database provides full text for nearly 7,300 scholarly publications with coverage in virtually every subject area updated daily. Academic Search Premier is a section of this database.
Classical Music Library This link opens in a new window
Classical Music Library contains online listenable classical recordings. This is a collection of music from Medieval to contemporary.
Contemporary World Music This link opens in a new window
Contemporary World Music contains sounds of all regions from every continent. It includes genres and a blend of contemporary and traditional world music recordings from many labels throughout the world.
General OneFile This link opens in a new window
Comprehensive news and periodical article source from 1980 to the present. (AVL)
Grove Music Online This link opens in a new window
Central location for Grove Music Online, Oxford Companion to Music, and Oxford Dictionary of Music. Also known as Oxford Music Online
History Reference Center This link opens in a new window
Full-text from history reference books and encyclopedias, historical documents, biographies, photos and maps, media clips, and 60 history magazines. (AVL)
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
JSTOR (Journal Storage) Arts & Sciences I, II, III, IV, and VII consist of an archive of over 900 refereed, scholarly journals.
Oxford Academic Journals This link opens in a new window
Oxford University-published journals which cover a wide range of subjects including biology, economics, health sciences, political science, social work, and technology.
Petrucci Music Library This link opens in a new window
Virtual library of public domain music, especially classical music.
Smithsonian Global Music This link opens in a new window
Part of Music Online package; virtual encyclopedia of world’s musical and aural traditions.
How to Find Articles
- Go to the Library's web site www.lib.alasu.edu
- Under Research Tools (blue box on left side of page), there are two options in accessing databases:
- 1.) All of our electronic databases are listed under Databases by Title.
- 2.) If you would like resources in a particular subject, visit Databases by Subject.
- For this course, Music; Literature / Humanities, and History / Government / Political Science will be the most useful.
How to Access Databases from Off-Campus
Click on image for full document: