Finding Articles - MUP 390/490/495 Recital - Writing Program Notes - Research Guides Homepage at Alabama State University

Scholarly Articles

Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window Multi-disciplinary database provides full text for nearly 7,300 scholarly publications with coverage in virtually every subject area updated daily. Academic Search Premier is a section of this database.
General OneFile This link opens in a new window General OneFile is a comprehensive general-interest resource providing periodical and news information. In addition, General OneFile also features more than 500 travel guides; a full collection of National Public Radio programs from 1990 to the present; links to over 5,000 video files; more than 3,000 full-text titles recommended by Bowker’s “Magazines for Libraries”.
Grove Music Online This link opens in a new window
Central location for Grove Music Online, Oxford Companion to Music, and Oxford Dictionary of Music. Also known as Oxford Music Online
JSTOR This link opens in a new window JSTOR (Journal Storage) Arts & Sciences I, II, III, IV, and VII consist of an archive of over 900 refereed, scholarly journals.
Oxford Academic Journals This link opens in a new window Oxford University-published journals which cover a wide range of subjects including biology, economics, health sciences, political science, social work, and technology.

Literature Resource Center This link opens in a new window Biographies, bibliographies and critical analysis of authors from every age and literary discipline. Covers more than 90,000 novelists, poets, essayists, journalists and other writers, with in-depth coverage of 2,000 of the most-studied authors. (AVL)
Full-text articles from scholarly journals and literary magazines are combined with critical essays, work and topic overviews, full-text works, biographies, and more to provide a wealth of information on authors, their works, and literary movements. Researchers at all levels will find the information they need, with content covering all genres and disciplines, all time periods and all parts of the world.
Petrucci Music Library This link opens in a new window Virtual library of public domain music, especially classical music.

Click on image for full document:

If there are two or more works on a program by the same composer, refer to the composer after the first instance by last name only.
When possible, provide the birth and death dates of the composer. If the composer is still living, type “b.” followed by the year of birth: Paul Sullivan (b. 1955)
Consult standard reference sources listed in the Research section of this guide for proper name spelling and dates. Although it may seem counterintuitive, the printed music is not always the most accurate source for this information and may vary with different publishers and editions.
Be sure to use proper accents and other diacritical marks for names in foreign languages. Use the Insert--Symbol function in the MS Word template to add these diacritics.
If there is an arranger, place the arranger’s name after the composer on the next line, separated by a semicolon.

Wolfgang Amadeus Mozart (1756-1791);

arr. John Doe