Skip to Main Content

Resources for Students: Services/Research Help

Research Assistance

Research Consultations

Research Consultations allow you to meet one-on-one with a librarian. You may schedule a consultation in advance, or walk in. Walk-ins are not automatically assigned to their subject specialist.  

Learn about:

  • The information cycle
  • Focusing your research topic
  • Planning your research strategy
  • Identifying relevant sources of information
  • Finding and evaluating sources efficiently

Who to ask for help

LWLC Subject Specialists Liaisons

Natasha Jenkins

njenkins@alasu.edu

Social Work

Monica Hodge

mhodge@alasu.edu

College of Health Sciences (CoHS); University College (First Year Experience)

Jessica Platt

jplatt@alasu.edu

College of Education; Psychology; Interim College of Business Administration

Neil Foulger

nfoulger@alasu.edu

Music; History & Political Science

Kashonda Murphy

kmurphy@alasu.edu 

Visual Arts; Communications

Teisha Robertson

trobertson@alasu.edu

College of Science, Technology, Engineering & Mathematics (CSTEM); University College

Hassna Ramadan

hramadan@alasu.edu

Languages & Literatures; Criminal Justice & Social Sciences; Theatre Arts

Information Desk

The Information Desk is located on the first floor of the Library. It is the focal service point and provides research and instructional assistance to the University's students, faculty, staff, and local community. The department houses a variety of resources for the Library including general and specialized encyclopedias, dictionaries, directories, handbooks, indexes, atlases, and bibliographies.

The information desk is staffed at all hours that the library is open. Reference Staff is available to help users in person, by telephone, and virtually via text, chat, and email. To reach the Information Desk please call (334) 604-9164.

Our Collections

Interlibrary Loan

Interlibrary Loan (ILL) is a service that allows you to borrow materials that are not available in the library such as books, periodical articles etc. ILL requests are made directly through WorldCat.

Montgomery Higher Education Consortium

The Montgomery Higher Education Consortium allows you to have access to all library materials at other institutions in Montgomery. To use this service, ASU students should complete a form and obtain a Consortium sticker from the Information Desk. The other institutions include: Huntingdon College, Faulkner University, Auburn University Montgomery, and Troy University Montgomery. 

View this page in a format suitable for printers, screen readers, or mobile devices. 915 South Jackson Street • Montgomery, Alabama 36101 • (334) 604-9164